Works For Me Wednesday: Cleaning Legos

This week’s Works for Me Wednesday tip is for cleaning Legos and other small, plastic toys that you don’t want to take the time to scrub. I love to find toys at garage sales, but I don’t want to have to clean Legos by hand before letting my boys play with them, so I was really excited to get this tip.

I’ve got to give credit to the Today Show for showing this idea a couple of weeks ago in a spring cleaning segment.  All you need is a mesh lingerie laundry bag, filled with your Lego blocks, and a dishwasher. One cycle and they’re clean! I’m all about simplifying.

For more life-changing tips, go to Rocks in My Dryer. 

7 responses to “Works For Me Wednesday: Cleaning Legos

  1. oh how neat..i’ve never thought of this…i bet other plastic toys can be cleaned like this too! thanks for the neat tip!!

  2. wonderful – off to wash! Thanks

  3. I’m all for washing as many toys in the dishwasher as possible. Love the idea of the lingerie bag. I wash the nursery legos (we only use the jumbo legos) in the dishwasher too, but I hate that they fill with water.

  4. Awesome! my DH said – or.. you could just forget to go through your kid’s pants pockets and wash them in the washing machine. and yup – Legos have stood up to our dryer too. Awesome.

  5. You can apply the same principle to non-toy items. :) After doing a bunch of baking and having nearly every measuring cup and measuring spoon dirty, I’ve put them in something akin to a lingerie bag and put them in the dishwasher.

    They also make dishwasher “cages” for this purpose. Tiny Legos wouldn’t work in one of the cages because the cage mesh is too big but for other items a little bigger (like my baking mess) they are ideal.

  6. In a dishwasher?

    We have none, so I put them in a large bucket with washing up liquid and water, and a bit of vinegar.

    I leave them for a night, then wash them and put them in a cotton bag and shake them dry.

    You can find out what works for me ::here::
    Have a wonderful day!

  7. Wow- this is a great tip! Thanks! :)
    Blessings,
    Michele :)
    http://www.frugalgranola.blogspot.com

Talk to me!

