WFMW: Kids Clipping Coupons

Whew! It’s been a long break from WFMW, and I have lots of ideas to share. Glad you’re back, Shannon, so I can start posting this stuff :)

Let’s talk about coupons. I definitely have a love/hate relationship with them…I love to be frugal, so the money I save by using them is great. And I don’t so much dislike the time it takes to look through them and decide which ones I want. I just hate the actual cutting of the coupons.

Lucky for me, I had a very smart mom. And I just remembered a couple of weeks ago what she used to do in our family when we were kids.

We grew up in a small town and didn’t have many coupons in our newspapers, so my aunts who lived in larger cities, and who apparently didn’t use coupons much, would keep theirs and give them to my mom. She’d go through and put a small “x” on each coupon that she wanted clipped, and then give them to me and my siblings to cut. And, she’d give us a penny a piece for each one that we cut out.

In the last couple of weeks, I’ve tried this with Luke (age 5 1/2 if you’re a new reader to this blog). There were 23 coupons to be clipped in the stack I had for him, and he got it done in probably 20 minutes (while also watching a Cardinals game on TV). It’s great practice for cutting on the lines, and he earned a quarter, which he was pleased with, since he’s saving up for a new Wii game (it’s gonna take a while at this rate of pay!). I also like that he’s contributing a bit to the household by helping out, and maybe getting a lesson in being responsible about how he spends money, knowing that we use coupons to make what we need more affordable.

So, that’s what works for me! And now I don’t have to do the part that I find annoying, which really works for me.

Check out Rocks In My Dryer for more great ideas!

21 responses to “WFMW: Kids Clipping Coupons

  1. this is Kelli ‘s mom. try http://www.bradsdeals.com Great website for deals I check every day. 12 % off best Buy the other day.

  2. Great idea. They learn and get involved in the family. Smart — even if you are a Cardinals fan. ;)

  3. I actually pay Michon a penny for each one she cuts out as well… just kidding (maybe) but I remember very well us doing that as kids. It really is a great idea.

  4. zach – hilarious! please comment more often.

    love,
    your favorite older sister

  5. You ARE a smart mom. . .

  6. What a great idea! I may have to try that with my son. :)

  7. What a good way to get him involved! :)

  8. Great and smart idea. Kids enjoy being able to help. When I’m trying to fix something at home, like a lamp or broken furniture, I let my own little boy pass me the tools from the toolbox. They think it’s a game! :)

  9. Wow! Having children participate in coupon clipping is a great idea. It teaches them to save money early on. You’re setting a good foundation there!

  10. What a great idea! I think I am going to have my older boys start helping with this!

  11. Just thought I’d share: I give my little ones a wrapping paper cutter instead of scissors. They can still help, and it makes the Band-Aids last longer…frugality, it is a disease ;)

  12. good idea. kenny has been working on cutting all summer.

  13. Great way to work on cutting! Love it. Sometimes, I don’t even do the coupons b/c of cutting them out so this idea will save us some money :-)

  14. That’s a great way to get kids involved! I can’t wait to have kids old enough to help out (our first is due in 5 weeks)! (Not that I’m trying to get him/her to grow up too fast already.)

  15. What a great idea! I would have never thought of it. I just put them in a stack and cut them on Monday. UGH! Now I’ll put my guys to work! THANKS!

  16. I can’t remember if I read it somewhere or if someone told me. They have their daughter help cut out the coupons. At the grocery store, she would help find the items. She would get a little bonus in her allowance for each item that she found. I think it was initially a nickle a coupon. Now that she is older, she helps find the coupons that match the grocery list. She is very active in helping because now she receives the full value of the coupon in her “extra” pay.

  17. It’s the organizing I hate. Maybe since my son is almost 12 I could pay him to do that!

  18. Really great idea. Kids love being a part of something bigger than themselves and feeling like an integral part of the family. You are doing so much more for them than just clipping coupons.

  19. Pingback: I Hate It When a Good Idea Backfires « Here’s the Diehl

Talk to me!

