Four.

Where does the time go? Here’s a quick walk through Bennett’s first four years of life…

look how blonde he was at birth!  i had forgotten...

look how blonde he was at birth! i had forgotten...

i love this pic from 2 months, because it already really looks like him to me.

i love this pic from 2 months, because it already really looks like him to me.

little did we know that this skunk costume (which says "little stinker" on the butt) would be so prophetic...

little did we know that this skunk costume (which says "little stinker" on the butt) would be so prophetic...

shortly before his first birthday.

shortly before his first birthday.

2 years old, and worn out after a hot day at lucy swinigan's first birthday party.

2 years old, and worn out after a hot day at lucy swinigan's first birthday party.

my sister hayley posed him for this picture...so cute!

my sister hayley posed him for this picture...so cute!

loving our vacation last summer!

loving our vacation last summer!

Bennett, when I blogged about your third birthday, I said that I hoped we were leaving the “terrible twos” behind us. And while I guess we technically did, this year was no cake walk. However, the last few months have generally been easier, with you generally responding in a less intense way. We’re getting there.

A few things about you: you love both of your brothers, but you have an especially intense love for Jack Henry, one that causes you to try to hug and kiss him multiple times a day. And since Jack Henry doesn’t talk, but he has started to assert himself, he’s now pushing you away when he doesn’t feel the love. I know this breaks your heart (well, about 80% of the time it breaks your heart; the other 20% of the time, it really makes you mad), but he’s just trying to communicate with you. You and Luke are just typical brothers – best buddies one minute, fighting over a toy the next. But if asked, you’d say Luke is your best friend. One of the things I’ll remember most about this year is how your love for “Star Wars” developed, and how awesome it was to you that there was a “Luke” and a “Ben” in that movie.

While I’m certain you love me – and demonstrate it with lots of hugs and kisses for me, too – you are your dad’s boy. It seriously wrecks your day if Dad has to leave for work before you get up in the morning. You NEED a few minutes with him to get your day started off right, and Dad’s going to hear about it, probably in a phone call, if you don’t get a hug and kiss before he steps out the door. To keep my sanity, I will gladly place that phone call for you.

You’re still an incredibly empathetic child. Please don’t ever lose that; it’s a beautiful character trait that doesn’t come naturally to everyone, and it’s a nice balance to your intensity. You’ve actually been really helpful to me this year, since Nana died, as you’re the one of the two boys who talks the most about her, and you’re the one who senses when I’m feeling sad. You know instinctively to just come and sit with me for a while, and I love that about you.

I’m excited to see what this year brings, Bennett. Raising you is an adventure, one that your dad and I are thrilled to be a part of. As always, we’re praying that you’ll use your powers for good.

Love,
Mom

PS…if you have time, will you leave him a birthday greeting? Thanks!

PPS…My SIL Andrea uploaded the video of Bennett getting his money for his birthday! Here it is:

25 responses to “Four.

  1. Happy Birthday, Bennett! We hope you have a really great day!!
    Love, Norah, Lucy & Daphne

  2. Happy Birthday Ben! Love ya buddy!
    Love, Uncle Jake & Aunt Dana

  3. Happy birthday, Bennett! It’s so awesome to see you being such a loving brother to Luke and Jack Henry!

    Jan Lange (Rebecca’s mom)

  4. Wow! A great big 4 year old!!!!!!!! We remember when you were a tiny baby……so sweet. We hope you have a super happy day!
    Love, Megan Ken Lilly Molly Jude Jeremiah

  5. Happy Birthday Bennett!!!

    (Sweet post Nicole!)
    (Gives me hope for my KT!) ;-)

  6. Happy Birthday Bennett!! Being 4 is so awesome!! We hope you have wonderful day.

    -Joe, Kelli, & Elle

  7. Happy Birthday, Bennett! Enjoy being 4 – it’s so much more fun that 3.

    And congratulations on your new cousin.

    -The Stuarts

  8. Happy Birthday, Bennett!!! Have a very fun day!

    Rebecca (aka Jack Henry’s teacher)

  9. That little face and smile is so darn cute!! Happy birthday, Bennett!!

  10. Very good post Nicole that I’m sure Bennett will enjoy reading when he gets older!
    And Happy Birthday to the cutest 4 year old boy I know. I love your smiles Bennett. Have a great day!

  11. Happy Birthday Bennett! You are such a handsome little…oh I mean big boy. Hope you have a very special day.

  12. Happy Birthday Bennett! I hope you have a Great Day! Love you!
    Aunt Hayley

  13. Happy Birthday Bennett! You are a cutie pie!! I love the picture of you right before your 1st birthday….adorable! Have a great day!

    Mandy

  14. happy birthday bennett! i love that smile of yours in the pic with the blue striped pajamas, because you still make that face today!!! you’re growing up so fast, but i love that you are always up for a good time! jeff and i love you so much and always look forward to playing with you and your brothers. it is so much fun to watch you play wii in the videos, too! i hope you are having a great day! Love Aunt Heidi

  15. happy 4th birthday bennett! i hope you have the best birthday ever.
    (that post was so sweet.)

  16. Happy Birthday Bennett! You’ll have to teach Aunt Andrea to give you a dollar for each year you are old. :)

    Go Cardinals!

  17. Happy Birthday “Little Buddy”

    Love Pop

  18. Happy Birthday Bennett, cheer real loud for the Cardinals tonight!

    Love,
    Uncle Zach, Aunt Michon & Will

  19. Wow! Bennett! Four years old and already so popular! Have a great day!

  20. Bennett, you are my favorite “snicklefritz”!!!!

    I love hearing all the things you do with your brothers! This year you got to start school too, and you are learning so many things really well! I can’t wait to see and hear about all the neat things you do this year while you’re 4!!

    Happy Birthday!
    Love,
    Nana Jo

  21. Happy Birthday, Bennett!! I hope you enjoy your special day!

    Kim

  22. Happy Birthday, Bennett! I hope you had a great day!

    Hannah :)

  23. Happy Birthday Bennett. I was going to tell you at Church last Sunday but I think you were welcoming a new cousin.
    See ya soon, Ryder

  24. Happy FOUR!!!! =)

  25. I’m always a little behind in reading your mom’s blog but it is never too late to say Happy Birthday Bennett!

Talk to me!

