Twelve.

Occasionally, the picture on the wall in our bedroom, taken on October 9, 1999, catches my eye.

It’s of 2 kids, just 22 and 24, who’d just said “I do” and promised a whole litany of things to each other that truly, they probably didn’t fully comprehend. I don’t mean to imply that we took our vows lightly; quite on the contrary. It’s just that there’s so much we didn’t know…

For better or worse? Of course! How bad could it be? We’re in love!!

For richer, for poorer? Yep. No problem. Truly, this one never concerned me. I always felt like we’d be ok, no matter what.

In sickness and in health? For sure, say these 2 young, healthy people, who don’t realize that it’s not either of their own sicknesses that they’ll first be sticking by each other through. Or how soon they’ll be dealing with it.

I know it works out differently for everyone, but I’m so glad that at the ripe old age of 17.9, I met my future husband, and that we did a lot of growing up together. We didn’t know what we were getting into, good or bad, and truly, I’m glad for that. I know that marrying young doesn’t always work out well – we’ve sadly watched the dissolution of other young marrieds around us through the years – but for us, it did.

—–

I hinted at a secret project earlier this year, and here’s a sneak peek.

I’ve been working on it for a sweet forever, just little bits here and there when I think of it. It includes:
*the 27th Street sign (inspiration 320 Sycamore – 27 is our weird number) (for that vintage 1940′s street sign from a town in Michigan, ebay seller here)
*canvas with our anniversary date (I’m going to clip a wallet-sized picture of us to it)
*a crossword of sorts of our addresses as a married couple
*the YOU ME & 3 (inspiration Under the Sycamore) (and the 3 is one of our old house numbers!)
*and the 2 states that we call home (inspiration here, via 3 in Under 3).

All of these are Monets…pretty from afar, a bit of a mess up close, save that awesome vintage street sign.

And yes, it’s a gallery wall…laid out on our carpet. Isn’t that where you put your gallery wall displays? No? Well, a little reconfiguring of the master bedroom furniture needs to go on before I’m ready to stick these pieces to the wall. Plus, there could be a couple of small additions.

—–

October 9th marks 12 years. 12 blessed, crazy, full, sad, incredibly-fast years. Here’s to the next 12, and the next, and the next, and the next…

We’re on a little getaway this weekend. I’ll share more when we return. Cheers!

15 responses to “Twelve.

  1. Love you two!
    I started to tear up at seeing your project. Seriously, SO cool! Very impressed!

  2. This is soo neat! Hoping to see this home of yours one of these times! And your wedding day was a pretty one, warm as I recall. A beautiful bride & handsome groom = delightful family! I’ve decided it’s good we can’t pick our days or know ahead of time. Enjoy your weekend, I know G&G will on the home front!

  3. That is gorgeous!!! I have been working on a few things for our master bedroom when we get a house too. I can’t wait to actually finalize things and get them up:)

  4. (First of all, Kay, their wedding day was NOT a “pretty day”–it rained! And this was after a drought that had started sometime in July!) I do say “Amen!” to your comment about it being good we don’t know “what’s to come” in our lives.

    So–that wedding picture! Nicole, you seriously don’t look any older; however, that young boy you’re standing by . . . ! :)

    That montage for your wall is about the coolest thing I’ve ever seen! I love how you see things and then actually carry some of them out yourself! Great job!!

    We’ll see you this evening! I know you’re looking forward to a fun getaway, and Ron & I are looking forward to hanging out w/ the boys!

  5. I love you, Dear.

  6. So cool! Is it bad that I want to go with you on your getaway? Awkward, right. If not, call me. :)

  7. Love!!!! I see some Illini orange and blue in there too;)

  8. happy anniversary!

  9. happy anniversary!!! very impressed with your art!!!! :) have a wonderful weekend celebrating!

  10. Happy Anniversary! Enjoy your time away together. You all look as happy today as you did 12 years ago. Both gorgeous and in love <3

  11. Wow! That collage is fabulous! Absolutely love the house numbers crossword and the ‘you me & 3′! Can’t wait to see it upon completion! Happy anniversary!

  12. This is so cool and so personal. . . LOVE. Happy anniversary, kids! :)

  13. happy anniversary! hope you are having fun on your getaway!

  14. Wow, that is so cool! Happy Anniversary! Hope your weekend has been fantastic!

  15. Happy Anniversary!
    LOVE LOVE the gallery wall display. It is so COOL…I have so many ideas like that in my head and can never get any of them accomplished…maybe when all my children are out of diapers?!?
    I really need to think of something cool to do with all the places we’ve lived, especially Japan.
    Thanks for the inspiration!!

Talk to me!

