PSA: Removing Cover Art in iTunes

Luke got a new-to-him iPod for Christmas that he was really anxious to fill with music (I mean, who wouldn’t be?).

I’ve been pretty careful about lyrics since I knew Luke could repeat things at 18 months or so. It’s gotten to the point that if Ke$ha or the like comes on the radio, Jack Henry will immediately tell me to change the station!

Sidenote: I am married to someone who pays little attention to lyrics, but likes a good beat. Source of contention.

However, an iPod and music in Luke’s ear is new territory for us. I told him when he said he wanted one that I had veto power over all song selection, and he readily agreed to that.

What I didn’t think about, though, is the cover art on albums. I’ve rarely paid any attention to it. Until now. I don’t think my 10-year-old needs to see the cover of Maroon 5’s Hands All Over album. But, there are a few songs on the album that I would let him have.

So I googled how to remove cover art in iTunes, and guess what? It’s super easy. The instructions are here on e-how. I found that it only worked on individual songs and not the whole album, so it was a repetitive little job but really quick.

And worth it to me.

A friend with teenagers recently told me that one way she helps guide good choices in music/movies for her kids is to remind them that everything they see/hear goes into their brain and stays there forever…there’s no way to unsee it. So, you should choose carefully what you put in there!

I told her I was filing that wisdom away for a couple of years, and then already used it with Luke this week. I’m so not ready to have a teenager…

4 responses to “PSA: Removing Cover Art in iTunes

  1. This was also a big problem for me. When Jagged Little Pill came out, my daughter loved “Ironic” and wanted the CD. As you may recall, “You Oughta Know” was also on that CD, which made it a big NO. So, my parents bought it for her and then yelled at me because they read the lyrics on the liner notes and didn’t understand why she knew about it at all. Radio, anyone?? :D

    p.s. If ever there was a person who was completely and utterly prepared for teenagers, it is you. And Matt Diehl, of course. ;)

    • Well, thanks. Teenage-dom will be an adventure, for sure.

      Yes, I very well do remember Jagged Little Pill, and don’t blame you for not wanting your daughter to have it! :)

  2. I’m the same as Matt but not on purpose. I can either listen to the lyrics or listen to the music but not both. My brain can apparently only take in one of those things at a time. When we go see movies I can’t count how many times we’d be leaving and one of the girls would say, “Wasn’t the music amazing!” And then I would say, “There was music?”

Talk to me!

