Out of the Mouths of Babes, Part 27

I know my time with these segments is dwindling to a close, as the boys are getting older* and things they say are less cute/have the potential to be embarrassing, so I’m clinging to this while I’ve still got a few…

1. Jack Henry was eating some snap pretzels for a snack, and came across two that were a weird shape. I commented that something was likely going wrong at the plant that day to make the pretzels look that way, and he got this bewildered look on his face and said, “Wait. What? Pretzels grow on plants?”

2. We’re vacationing in South Carolina this summer, with a stopover in the Great Smoky Mountain Range. When I mentioned to the boys that we might be staying on an island, Bennett immediately responded with, “An island? Ugh. You can die on a island!” With a little explanation that an island can be big or small, and most definitely did NOT look like the sandbars we see in the Mississippi when it’s low, I think he’s cool with it. (and, as it turns out, I finally found a place to stay that will rent to us for less than a full week, and it’s not on an island or oceanfront, but I think it’s going to be amazing anyway!)

3. The other night, Jack Henry and I were in the van together, and had on JoyFM, a local Christian music station. A song we both know and like came on (I wish now that I remembered which song it was!) and he asked, “Is that Jesus’ voice singing that?” It took me a second to realize he wasn’t kidding, so I was able to gather an appropriate response before giggling quietly to myself.

*Just today Jack Henry aged out of Parents as Teachers, a wonderful program we’ve been a part of for 10 years, since Luke was 6 weeks old. Sniffle.

2 responses to “Out of the Mouths of Babes, Part 27

  1. Such fun memories Nicole. Glad you document them. Miss Shelly came with her last bag-o-tricks today, huh? Kinda sad.

  2. Oh Lordy, #3!!!!! I’d love to have been a fly on the wall of your van to hear your “serious” answer to his question!!! Sooooo cute!!!

    Pretzel plants–picture it! :)

    And poor Bennett, visualizing some deserted island . . .

Talk to me!

