Socks.

I know…I barely blog, and now I’m blogging about socks?

20130314-062336.jpg

Stick with me. These are no ordinary socks.

Wait. Actually, they are ordinary socks. And that’s precisely what makes them extraordinary when we’re talking about son #2.

As chronicled here, in a post from November 2008, I outlined the sensory issues Bennett had been having with his clothes, and the steps we took to get him through that. I updated here and here about his progress.

The one holdout problem area over the last couple of years has been socks. He just cannot stand the seam or thickness of typical socks. However, the ones that I buy for him are crazy expensive, and they wear through fairly quickly because of how thin they are, BUT I always felt like it was worth it in the long run, because he’d just put them on without complaint.

He’s recently worn holes all the way through the bottoms of several pairs, so on Tuesday night I suggested that he just give a pair of Luke’s socks a try Wednesday morning.

And they were fine! I asked him after school what he thought of them, and he said, “Actually, I didn’t even think about them all day!”

So last night, he and I took a little trip over to Target to buy new, regular socks. Who knew new socks would make me so happy, and so relieved, that this chapter is primarily closed?

Happy day. The end.

6 responses to “Socks.

  1. That’s definitely exciting and blog-worthy! :)

  2. YES!! That’s great! You should have treated that boy to ice cream on the way home from Target :)

  3. That’s GREAT news. Remind me to tell you sometime about the green pants. :)

  4. I’m glad I was there that evening that you had him try on a pair of Luke’s “normal socks”–and he conceded that he’d at least try them all day the next day! Glad he’s climbed over this hurdle! Gotta celebrate the little things!

  5. Congratulations to Bennett (and you!) Woohoo! I read over all your previous posts about sensory issues, as David (age 2 1/2) has just started seeing an OT for sensory issues/picky eating, as well. David was a late talker, dislikes new foods, and apparently has some vestibular issues (i.e. he doesn’t like to swing). No real diagnosis–and I don’t think he will even qualify for special services through our school district. However, our current OT has started us on that brushing technique which you said in an earlier post you that tried with Bennett. Do you think the brushing helped? They act like the brushing technique will help with a myriad of sensory issues. I just hope it will help David try new vegetables. Right now the only way he eats ANY fruits and vegetables is through a morning smoothie. Stressful…

  6. That is awesome! But if you’re me, you’ll still be struggling to find a sock that doen’t pill up the first wash it goes through!

Talk to me!

