Fear.

The boys have been going to VBS this week – every day, 9-12. Naturally, today, the 4th day, Jack Henry breaks down in tears before going because he’s worried that I won’t pick him up.

What?

Of course, I assured him that I’ll be back…I always come back, even if I’m not the first mom there.

Then, I was there to pick him up at 12:02, and a couple of kids had already left (not nearly all of them), and JH was crying in his classroom. Because he thought I might not be coming.

When we piled in the van to head home, I assured him again that I’ll always be coming for him, and then asked his brothers individually if I’d ever just left one of them somewhere. Luke answered, “Jack Henry, I’ve been going to school for 7 years, and Mom has never left me anywhere.” Score.

And then in a flash, as I turned to Bennett to have him reassure JH, I remembered: I DID forget him one time at preschool (recounted here). In my head: oh crap oh crap oh crap please please please Bennett do NOT remember this.

You can imagine my relief when Bennett said, “She’s never left me anywhere, either!” (which, frankly, is a miracle, because if any of you have been reading long enough to remember what Bennett was like a toddler/preschooler {one story for illustration purposes}, you know that I was tempted to leave him somewhere more than once).

I really feel like Jack Henry is experiencing a little anxiety over the impending start of kindergarten in the fall (he’s also been a little weepy the last few weeks at Sunday School, which has never happened before). This makes me a little nervous, of course, but I’m hoping he’ll just get it out of his system now.

5 responses to “Fear.

  1. So, I have to ask. Do you think Bennett remembered and covered for you or did he really forget?? Awfully sweet if he was covering or just trying to be a reassuring big brother. :)

  2. This is kinda sweet, and makes my mommy heart melt!

  3. awwww, sweet JH! :( Sad to be thinking of not having his #1 girl around…. *tear*

  4. This is just so sad, sweet, & adorable all rolled into one! Poor lil guy! I think you’re spot-on about these being mini-panic attacks about this fall. I just imagine he can’t process what it’s going to be like when he’s gone every day, & I can understand his fear of being forgotten. :( How well I remember that morning you & I were busy looking at beads & forgot about Bennett! Thank goodness, it slipped his mind!

Talk to me!

