Out of the Mouths of Babes, Part 28

It’s been forever since I’ve had a post like this (February, I checked), but I have 2 quick lines from Jack Henry’s mouth that needed to be recorded…

1. This morning, as with nearly every school morning, I had to wake him and his brothers at 6:20* **. He rolled over and said, “How can it be morning already?” I’ve also so far this school year heard when waking him, “Well, that was fast.” and “Did I actually sleep a whole night? That felt like a nap!” He’s having a great start to kindergarten, but I think it’s fair to say it’s wearing him out. And he goes to bed by 8 most nights, sometimes 7:30. Exhausting.

20130916-072855.jpg

2. At breakfast, we were talking about what kind of food we’ll have at his birthday party with our family this Saturday. He was describing some chips he wanted me to buy but couldn’t remember the name. His description? “They’re yellow, and they look like hammocks.” Oh, you mean Fritos? “YES!!! FRITOS!” So I’m getting him Fritos, even though I think they smell like feet.

*so they can poke around for 25 minutes getting ready, then head downstairs for breakfast, helping make lunches/cleaning up the kitchen, and out the door by 7:15 with their dad. Early starts are rough, but I like it better than if we were a 9am start like some elementaries in our district!

**Nevermind that on Saturday, he was up at 5:45 on his own.

2 responses to “Out of the Mouths of Babes, Part 28

  1. Good one! LOVE his wake-up comments!! “That felt like a nap”–indeed!!

    Looking forward to Sat–birthday & ballpark! And I love those “hammocks”!!

  2. Pingback: Finding a Happy Place. | Here's the Diehl

Talk to me!

