Valentine’s Dinner

Matt and I were able to go out for dinner on Tuesday night to celebrate Valentine’s Day…his mom came to stay with us for a few days (which has been a God-send…it’s so easy to run an errand when you’re by yourself!) and watched the kids so that we could have dinner at a really cool restaurant.

It’s called Eleven Eleven Mississippi, and if you haven’t been there, you must go. It’s located in Lafayette Square, and the restaurant is an old, rehabbed building that, in its former life, was part of a shoe factory.  I really, really love old buildings like this, with exposed brick and ductwork and history.  Matt had been telling me about this place for some time. Our conversations would generally go something like this:

Me: What did you do for lunch today?
Matt: I took a customer out to eat.
Me: Oooohhh, where’d you go?
Matt: Eleven Eleven Mississippi. I had salmon and carmelized brussels sprouts and –
Me: OK, that’s enough. I had peanut butter and jelly.

We had this conversation probably 4 or 5 times in the last year, specifically about this restaurant (and many other conversations similar to this one about other restaurants). So for Christmas, he surprised me with a gift certificate to Eleven Eleven Mississippi, which we got to use it on Tuesday night.  I felt right at home parking my minivan next to this restaurant, in a neighborhood full of minivans.  Oh wait, I mean mine was the only one.  Anyway, Matt ate whatever their 3-course Tuscan special of the night was (it involved a lot of seafood, and since I’m allergic, I couldn’t have any.  Just kidding, I just hate seafood), and I had the Hearts of Romaine salad and the ribeye, because I don’t eat things like rabbit.  Everything was so, so good.  We shared the Napoleon for dessert, and had a glass of wine with dinner.  Don’t go to this place if you’re on a diet, or at least plan to splurge whilst there…there’s a fair amount of butter and cream being used in the dishes!  So definitely check them out if you’ve got a special occasion coming up.

I’ll leave you with my favorite picture of all time of my Valentine and me…this was not taken anywhere near Valentine’s Day, but it’s still perfect for today.  2 kids in love, circa 1995. 

img013.jpg

7 responses to “Valentine’s Dinner

  1. LOVE Eleven Eleven Mississippi! Seeing as it’s close to A-B, we ate there almost weekly. . . in fact, my going-away lunch was there!

    Glad you guys had a fun date! 🙂

  2. What an interesting name. Sounds like some place fun to check out. Who is that young couple?
    Hope you guys didn’t wear brown.

  3. This is one of my favorite pics of you two too!!

  4. Sounds like a fun place! And…..your conversation about lunches and places they go, I feel like we have the same one almost daily! 🙂 Kirk always says….at least the bank pays for it….I say, at least you didn’t have mac and cheese for the second time this week!

  5. Dinner sounded wonderful! You have a few more places to pick from there! And now you can really be jealous when Matt takes another customer there!

    Sonya and Nicole – P B & J and Mac and Cheese were staples every week when you two were growing up! Add hot dogs, cheese sandwiches, and bologna sandwiches (we weren’t as conscious of the “fat content” of things then!!) and you had a week’s worth of meals! It does get better! I am so glad you can both be “stay-at-home” moms at this time!

    I always like that picture of the two of you also! Neither of you looks a day older!

  6. Pingback: I’m Practically a Restaurant Reviewer « Here’s the Diehl

  7. I went to school with one of the chefs there- we never get out alone so we’ve not been there but I’ll keep it in mind. How pricey was it?

Talk to me!

