Labor Day Weekend Snippets

This weekend was just packed with fun stuff, so I’m going to have to just record a few glimpses into what we did…

FRIDAY:
Kelli and I took our kids to the zoo for the morning, and then over to Turtle Park for lunch. A good time was had by all! We just barely missed a fight between the two hippos that left both of them bleeding…the boys probably really would have enjoyed that! It was beautiful outside, and the zoo was less crazy than I anticipated.  Here are a few pictures.

Bennett wouldn’t smile, so Kelli took another one of just him…and it’s so cute!

♦Friday night included a trip to Home Depot to look at carpet, which was pretty much not fun because the boys were with us…seriously, home improvement stores turn them into monkeys.  Friday night was also filled with ironing.

SATURDAY:

♦In the morning, I went to garage sales with Bethany, and got some good stuff!  By the time I got home, I had to switch into mommy-on-a-mission mode, to get the house and children ready for their babysitter, because Matt and I had BIG plans: Illini/Mizzou Border Wars football game.  Jan‘s daughter, Rebecca, babysat for the boys for the first time, and everything went great according to all reports!  I so love that she cleaned up the playroom…I don’t know if any of our sitters do that.

♦Matt scored us tickets to the company suite, on the 40 yard line, to the big game.  Illinois was expected to lose, so while it wasn’t a surprise that they did, it was still disappointing because the game was totally within reach a couple of times.  No matter; the day was so much fun.  My brother Jake and his wife Dana were here for the game, so we went to the Illini rally with them.  Moment of the evening that I most wish I would have seen: Jake realizing that he had put Frank’s Red Hot Sauce on his hot dog instead of ketchup.  Heineken might have had something to do with the mixup, I dunno.  I so wish I had a picture.

Hannah/illini_girl, these pictures are for you.  Wish you were here!

Balloons spelled out “GO ILLINI.”

Jake & Dana, Me & Matt

Love people who take tailgating this seriously, too.

Some more serious dedication to the team, and our beloved Chief.  I heart this tattoo.  He said that he asked his wife’s forgiveness, not permission.  Understandably.  He did it on Mother’s Day weekend last year.  He knows Matt through work, and I’d heard about his (now) legendary tattoo last year right after he got it.

The scene from our suite.  Unfortunately, some Mizzou fans got in.  Not sure how that happened.  I’ll get right on that and get it corrected for next year.

Hands down, our band is better than your band.  And the “Golden Girls” and flag girls?  Really, really not good.  No contest.  **Smack-talking over for now.**  So sad for me to see the band perform for the first time without the Chief.

SUNDAY:

♦Went to church, and then home for the entire family to nap (except Luke).  The boys had planned to campout in the backyard last night, but in the end, it was just too hot. They tried…everyone came in by about 10pm and slept in the AC!

MONDAY:

♦Traditional breakfast out, this time at Cracker Barrel (on Matt’s work holidays we like to do this). Jack Henry ate his weight…seriously, he had 2 saltines, 1 1/2 scrambled eggs, half a biscuit, and a few bites of pancake. Oh, and an orange wedge. Goodness. Tonight’s plans include steaks on the grill and doing nothing but relaxing.

Hope your weekend was fun, too!

14 responses to “Labor Day Weekend Snippets

  1. LOVE THE PICTURES!

    Okay, for me–I am anti-tatoo (mainly anti-pain and anti-permanent things on my body). . . BUT this Chief thing is seriously making me rethink it. . . If there was anything I would get a tatoo of, it’d be the Chief.

    Here’s to hoping for a good rest of the season! 🙂

  2. We love Turtle Park! I’ve only been there once in my whole life! I didn’t even know where it was until about a year and a half ago. I know, I need to get out more. Even teenagers like to climb on those turtles to have a pic taken. 🙂

    Um, that orange guy in the blue Speedo is kinda creepy looking. I hope he is just a normal guy in real life.

    Rebecca said that Bennett wouldn’t say *anything* for like the first 90 minutes that she was with your boys. He’d just nod if she asked him something. But he really warmed up when they watched Tom & Jerry. Luke and Bennett made sure that they kept on top of telling Rebecca what was going to happen *next* in the show. 😀

    And cleaning up the toys is just part of a babysitter’s job, as far as my girls are concerned.

  3. I guess will have to wear my Illini shirt around you sometime then. I did not attend there but loved close enough to get a shirt!!! Ha!ha! My neighbors threaten to beat me up when I wear it around here though.

  4. i would like to tailgate with that group!

  5. What a great wkend you guys had! The zoo pics are so cute (love the one of Bennett by himself – w/ Luke’s hand holding his chin!).

    GREAT ballgame pics – what a good time! And, oh, I loved Jan’s comment about Bennett not speaking the 1st 1 1/2 hrs. that Rebecca was there! But no way could he keep quiet during Tom & Jerry!

  6. What a fun weekend! Love the pictures! Seeing the RV decked out reminds me of when we used to tailgate in STL for the Rams w/ my aunt and uncle….they have a Rams RV all decked out like that.

    Jake and the hot sauce on the hot dog…hilarious! Wish I could have been there too 🙂

  7. I will say this, the Franks Red Hot was quite a shock initially, but actually turned out pretty good….I highly recommend it!!!! And yes, Mr. Heineken had a say in this matter….but you’ll have that.

  8. I can’t believe no one has smack talked you about the big game Nicole! Ha ha ha ha…We LOVED watching the game all the way here in Washington. We were so homesick by the end!

    Tiff

  9. Not letting a strange man touch your baby in the supermarket is one thing…….but you and the painted guy! I see you kept your distance. YUCK

  10. Pingback: By Popular Demand « Kellogues

  11. Pingback: Now & Then « Kellogues

  12. Pingback: I Am Happy, O So Happy « Kellogues

  13. Pingback: Bravo, Nicole « Kellogues

  14. Pingback: Paisley Update « Kellogues

Talk to me!

