WFMW: Dining out with Kids

So today’s idea might seem boring and lacking in spontaneity.  It is. However, I’ve found that if we are taking our kids to a restaurant and I want the meal to be remotely enjoyable, I need to do some planning. 

Specifically, I need to see the menu ahead of time.

Nearly every chain restaurant and a good majority of local ones, too, have their menus on their website. I tell the kids what their choices are so that they can be thinking about what they want, and I narrow my choices down to a couple of things that look good. Then when we get there, I can actually decide what I want to eat instead of just randomly choosing something that I think I’ll like because I’m feeling rushed…those of you with multiple children know that managing all of them at a restaurant table can get difficult, especially if it takes you a long time to order. That’s precious time when they’re usually acting decent that goes to waste. I’d rather place our order when the waitress comes to take our drink order and save us the 10 minutes. It generally means that dinner will go more smoothly, and we can actually consider taking them out to eat again without getting a headache just thinking about it.

Can I just tell you how much I love to go out for a leisurely dinner with Matt, when I can look at the menu and take my time?

So, that’s what works for me this week. See what others are saying over at Rocks in my Dryer.

5 responses to “WFMW: Dining out with Kids

  1. I agree on nixing the 10 minute wait! I want to order as soon as we sit down.

    Our current favorite restaurant with the kids is Souplantation. No ordering, everyone gets what they want and gets to try new flavors.

  2. This definitely makes for a better dinner, when it comes faster to alleviate the “I’m starving, Mom”. 😀 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Thanks for coming to visit my blog and commenting! I always love to find other bloggers who have 3 boys.

    When we take the kids out to dinner (which isn’t often because it’s just not enjoyable) I always order the kids food first and ask the server to bring it out as soon as it’s ready. Crayons and a coloring page can only last so long!

    Have a great day!

  4. Meet him for lunch instead!!! It’s always faster service too!

  5. I had never thought of looking up the menu before hand. . .Thanks for the idea. My dad was of the “you-better-know-what-you-want-before-you-get-there” mentality. I think I’ve carried some of that over to my kids. This makes it a less stressful way of doing that! Thanks, again.

Talk to me!

