Compassion International

Last spring, Danny Oertli did a concert at our church that we attended…he’s a very gifted musician with an incredible testimony (and I blogged about him here). He also happens to be heavily involved in Compassion International, the child sponsorship program. At his show, you could choose a child to sponsor…Matt and I discussed it, and then never did. We support local charities, and tithe, and that felt like enough at the time.

If you read some of the bigger blogs around the web, you might have read this week about the bloggers’ Compassion International mission trip that happened. I read a couple of the blogs regularly (specifically, I never miss a post on Confessions of a Pioneer Woman), so I saw several posts about their trip. And when I read this post by Marlboro Man (husband to Ree, aka Pioneer Woman) I knew I had to have Matt read it. Go read it now. It’s okay, I’ll wait.

You’re back? Good. Powerful, wasn’t it? After Matt read it, he was as convinced as I was that it was time to do this.

So I started looking around the Compassion website, and realized that you can search very specifically for a child to sponsor. Just for fun, I typed in Luke’s birthday and found a boy with the exact same birthday and year…and two of his favorite activities are baseball and art. Could there be a better fit for my little guy? I put in the other two boys’ birthdays and there were none for Bennett’s, and only older kids for Jack Henry’s date. So I made up my mind: Jeremy from the Dominican Republic it is.

Matt and I think this is going to be an awesome way to teach our kids about how to serve others, and to help them gain some perspective on how incredibly blessed they are to live where they do. And that they’ll be able to share who Jesus is with a child thousands of miles away is pretty awesome. We purposely chose a child that’s near their ages so that they can relate to him better. And, remember how I bought the boys the 4-chambered banks to divide up their money? One of those sections is “donate” and I talked to the boys today about using some of that money to help support Jeremy, and they were all for it.

I’m not posting about this to pat ourselves on the back…but in case you’ve been thinking about something like this, maybe reading about it will help move you towards sponsorship!  There are thousands of kids waiting to be sponsored through Compassion.

If you sponsor a child already, will you leave a comment and let me know how long you’ve been doing it, and what your experience has been? Or, if this has made you want to sponsor a child yourself, I’d love to know about it!

8 responses to “Compassion International

  1. Bless you for spreading the word about Compassion!

    Will you join us? http://allinhisdesign.blogspot.com/search/label/Fast%20and%20Feast

  2. Hadn’t been on Pioneer Woman’s blog for awhile, so I went back and caught up on the entries from Marlboro Man & the girls while on their Compassion International trip. Really interesting & enlightening–and lots of pictures to help with the story.

    This is SUCH a great thing for you to do with the boys. What a perfect way for them to understand the abstract concept of “poor little kids far away who don’t have anything.” I am so happy for little Jeremy, who will not only be blessed by your family but will also be a blessing to you!

  3. We have sponsored Compassion children for a long time. I’ve forgotten how long it has been. We used to sponsor a girl from Indonesia and then she “graduated” out of the program. Now we sponsor a girl from Uganda named Veronica. She will be 16 this month. We’ve been sponsoring her for 8 or 9 years maybe?

    Your boys will like the letters that you get from the sponsored child. It will really give them insight into how different Jeremy’s life is from what life is like here.

  4. I used to sponsor a child. I did it for about 2 years. Now though, Brian’s sister is a missionary in Africa and so we switched our sponsorship to there. We are helping her help kids and adults over in Niger. We get to see a littel more “hands on” of how our money is being put to work through a personal aquantance. It is such a blessing to be helping other people out that we don’t even know. Great lesson for the kids and great idea to teach tehm early on giving. I will be keeping that in mind.

  5. We sponsor Karina from the Dominica Republic. We began to sposor her right around the time that Lauren was born, about 5 years ago. Like you we searched for one around her birthday, but they don’t enter the Compassion system until they are a little older. So, Karina is 8 or 9, but her birthday is near Lauren’s. Her pic is on our fridge and it serves as a good reminder at meal time when we are urging our children to eat. Sometimes they say, “Do we have to eat because some kids like Karina don’t have food.”
    We had big aspirations when we started having kids to sponsor one child for each of our own children. While this is a cool idea, we just haven’t been able to do it. Yes, I’m sure we could rearrange the ol’ budget, but not much is being saved now. With three girls, I’m looking down the road at 3 sets of braces, 3 colleges, and 3 WEDDINGS! Yikes!

  6. We sponsor a child through World Vision. We started this about 3 years ago when we got married. We send our monthly donations and cards, but I wish I could do more!

  7. i think it’s great that you’re doing this. i think one of the best things you can do is teach your children to help others. what sweethearts to put their “donate” money towards jeremy.

  8. i’ve looked into this for a few years now, and it is in my plans as soon as jeff and i get married! i’d absolutely love to be able to ultimately make a trip to meet the child–it has been a dream of mine to go to africa!!!

Talk to me!

