WFMW: The Timer

New WFMWIf your kids are anything like mine, they don’t like being told that an activity they are enjoying is about to end. And, if you’re anything like me, you’ll say something like, “In five minutes you need to be done playing the Wii” and then you walk off and do laundry and clean up after breakfast and whoops! 15 minutes have passed. And your kids will never learn how long 5 minutes really is.

That’s why me and the kitchen timer are good friends.

When the boys have a set amount of time to do something, I just set a timer in the kitchen. It is truly amazing how much less protesting there is when the timer goes off and indicates that an activity is over vs. me telling them it’s over. And I’m all about keeping the outbursts to a minimum here without compromising my authority, so this works for me!

For more tips, go to Rocks in my Dryer.

4 responses to “WFMW: The Timer

  1. ummm…i love this idea. why have i never thought of this?

  2. I posted about how the timer works for me too!

  3. OH, I couldn’t live without the timer. We use it for everything!!

  4. We just started doing this with my two-year-old! So far it has worked very nicely.

    Another way that it works for us is when she dawdles (sp?) at the dinner table. She started to develop a habit where she would play with her food and not eat, so we would ask if she was done, and she would say no, and indicate that she still wanted more to eat, but then she wouldn’t eat – she’d continue to play.

    Since we want to give her opportunity to eat but we don’t want to be at the dinner table forever, we will set the timer and tell her she has x minutes to finish up. (This is after we have already finished eating.) It has worked very well to establish boundaries and walk that fine line of allowing her space to do things at her own pace, yet not allow her to take over control of our time.

    I can definitely related to being friends with the timer! 🙂

Talk to me!

