Look at Me! I’m Crafty!

I got this crazy idea a while back that I should make my SIL Michon a diaper cake for her shower this past Saturday. I had gotten one from my friend Melissa at my shower for Luke and thought it was so cute. So I decided to try my hand at it.

And honestly, it was not at all difficult to make – just a little time consuming. But I really liked how it turned out. Luke and Bennett were able to help me roll up the diapers (after some initial confusion about whether we were actually making a cake or doing something with diapers) and I rubber-banded them. I also rolled up some baby washcloths to be the same size as the diapers and stuck them in one layer, and used a baby blanket as the middle of another layer. All in, it probably took about 2-3 hours, some of which I did while watching the Duggar wedding last weekend on TLC, all while texting Kelli about things that made me squirm and words that I don’t like (relations. It’s a horrible word.).

Anyway, here is my masterpiece:

ta-da!

ta-da!

see that rubbermaid tub?  the girl who gave that to her filled it with presents, and bought the tub instead of a gift bag since they're nearly the same price.  a girl after my own heart!

see that rubbermaid tub? the girl who gave that to her filled it with presents, and bought the tub instead of a gift bag since they're nearly the same price. a girl after my own heart!

just had to post this...michon is a cubs fan, and zach is a cardinals fan, so this gift was obviously for him!  isn't she cute?

just had to post this...michon is a cubs fan, and zach is a cardinals fan, so this gift was obviously for him! isn't she cute?

For more “Hobby Hump Day” ideas, go to 3 In Under 3.

15 responses to “Look at Me! I’m Crafty!

  1. Very Cute! I am impressed!!
    Question on the DUggar wedding – i did not watch – but saw the previews…….. did they really not kiss before their wedding day?

  2. That diaper cake turned out great! Neat idea to have your boys help you. 😉

    I made a diaper cake for a shower back…. um…. I think it was about 7 years ago now. I remember being shocked at how difficult it was to find cloth diapers. Maybe they’ve come back in vogue and are more readily available now.

  3. Hey, that works too! Whatever the mom needs! 😀

  4. Super cute! I’m going to have to try that whenever my siblings decide to have babies…..hopefully soon.

    Michon looks adorable. And, I LOVE the rubbermaid tub idea. I have so many of those and HATE to spend the $$ on them.

  5. Its awesome!

  6. one of my friends gave me one for one of my showers too. so, so cute. i loved it.

  7. You are super crafty! I am keeping this one in my backpocket for future baby showers! I have seen them in stores, and never thought about making one! YEAH! And I love the person who bought the tote, again, in my back pocket for the future!

    Regarding the Duggar wedding – it was interesting to watch, but yes, a bit uncomfortable. Were they really listening to the CD about what to expect on their wedding night as they drove to the hotel? And does the cousin Amy not follow the same rules as them – she wears pants and said she has kissed many boys? Is she an outcast? Or the relative that they say “Every family has one of those!” – ha! ha!

  8. Yeah Nic!! The cake is SO cute. I’m a tad concerned though…..Why is Michon sitting on the floor with her pregnant self? She is absolutely adorable (I really wish I would have thought to get one of those sweaters….hide the boobs, show off the tummy) but that’s got to be cramping her sweet belly. Get that girl an easy chair!!
    And I missed the Duggar wedding but I can barely watch that show anymore. The sheer volume of kids makes me hyperventilate every time.

  9. It’s lovely. Wonderful job.

  10. I had a towel wedding cake made for me by deb for our wedding shower with silk roses pinned to it — it was awesome! So is this!

  11. very cute – way to be crafty!

  12. Very cute!

    The Duggars are perfectly wonderful people, but it still hurts me a little to watch that show. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because they are so lovey-dovey that I want to vomit.

    Hmmm. . . wonder why I’m single? 😉

  13. I love baby showers! (Another reason I’m sad the baby phase is over. The showers seem to stop as well.) Your cake is awesome. And I’m totally going to steal the rubber tub idea! If I ever go to another baby shower that is.

  14. Very cute Diaper Cake!!! (I love the boys’ initial confusion about the cake concept!) Adding the additional washclothes, blankie, & other little accessories–and topping it w/ the doggie–how clever!

Talk to me!

