It’s Your Life

Sorry to be so music-heavy the last few days, but I’ve got another new favorite song (courtesy of my favorite show, “The Biggest Loser” – I’m totally rooting for Mike to win!) that I have to share with you!

The artist’s name is Francesca Battistelli, and if you listen to contemporary Christian music at all, you’ve surely heard her catchy song “I’m Letting Go.”  I went to her website, and got this quote from her bio that I think sums up her music perfectly: “I…really longed to bring something authentic to the scene that even non-Christians could listen to.” When I first heard “It’s Your Life” I kept thinking, “Wow, this could totally be a Christian song!” but since it was featured on “The Biggest Loser” I just thought there’s no way.

This song sums up so much of what I want my kids to grow up knowing.  Here are the lyrics:

This is the moment
It’s on the line
Which way you gonna fall?
In the middle between
Wrong and right
But you know after all

It’s your life
What you gonna do?
The world is watching you
Every day the choices you make
Say what you are and who
Your heart beats for
It’s an open door
It’s your life

Are you who you always said you would be?
With a sinking feeling in your chest
Always waiting for someone else to fix you
Tell me when did you forget

It’s your life
What you gonna do?
The world is watching you
Every day the choices you make
Say what you are and who
Your heart beats for
It’s an open door
It’s your life

To live the way that you believe
This is your opportunity
To let your life be one that lights the way

There isn’t a clip on youtube, so the only way I’ve found for you to listen to the song is to go to her website – off to the right near the top of the page is a music player in an orange rectangle. Double click on song #10. You’ll be glad you did; she has a beautiful voice! My boys are already singing along, and we had a discussion about what the song means…I think they kind of got it. Which is the best I can hope for with a 6 and almost-4-year-old!

(By the way, I just let the music player go while I was sitting here, and track #11 is amazing, too…I’m heading to download the whole album now.)

Happy weekend…

9 responses to “It’s Your Life

  1. i’m w/ you, i’m rooting for mike (and sione too).

  2. Love this song – and I’m LOVING this season of Biggest Loser. They finally have some NICE people on the show. I thought I might have to give up watching it if it repeated last season.

    I cried last week when Ron and Mike went home and the brothers saw each other. I hope one of them wins. I also really like the daughter from the purple team – she always has a good attitude and has worked so hard!

    • Oh, I was BAWLING when Mike and Ron went home and saw the younger brother. I just think Mike’s so mature and has carried himself so well this season – and seeing his dad be proud of him (and vice versa this week) just totally gets me. I was telling Matt that it would be so cool if the younger brother could be on next season!

      I also like Kristin (purple team) and the cousins (Felipe and Sione – they work hard, and though I like Jillian, I thought they had a legitimate beef with her not working them out and didn’t mind the drama).

  3. Her song “Free to be me” is one of my favorites 🙂

  4. I listened to both of those songs–glad you mentioned #11 also, as I loved the words to it too.

    I agree with “In a World Surrounded . . .”–this Biggest Loser season is so different because most are very close to each other. Tear-jerker time every week.

  5. I so want Mike to win too. Bless his heart!! When he gave Aubrey the grocery gift, I just lost it! Ryder loves the show too.

  6. Oh, I love that song too. Thanks for posting the lyrics – really great. I’m really enjoying The Biggest Loser this season. Last time they were so cut-throat and mean to each other. This year they are so loving and sacrificial. What a contrast.

  7. Very cool song! I will be adding it to my ipod tomorrow.

Talk to me!

