Best Misunderstanding EVER

This made me laugh until my sides hurt today at lunch.

At meals, after our prayer, we say something that we’re thankful for. Everyday for as long as I can remember, Bennett has said he’s thankful for “Jack being healthy” whether he is or not at the time. So, we’ve told him he can still say that, but he also needs to be thankful for something else. His friend Layla is over to play this morning, so I said “I’m thankful that Layla came over today.” And he said, “Yeah, me too. Oh, and I’m thankful that Dad’s getting meat at work.”

I said, “What? Do you mean eating meat for lunch?”

He replied, “I don’t know for sure.” He looked a bit confused.

I thought for a minute and asked, “Did Dad say something today about ‘bringing home the bacon’ before he left for work?”

Bennett said, “Yeah, he did!”

At this point, I had to leave the room I was laughing so hard. It’s my favorite thing he’s ever said.

16 responses to “Best Misunderstanding EVER

  1. I AM DYING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that kid is a character!!!! and i am QUITE impressed with your ability to make the connection, nicole!!! ben will be expecting some “breakfast for dinner” tonight, i imagine… better start scrambling some eggs, too!!!

  2. I love it…..just love it. The kid is a thinker…..

  3. HILARIOUS! What a fun kid!

  4. Ah – that was great! I love it!

  5. Agree with all comments – that was a CLASSIC!!!
    Too Cute!

  6. this has me in stitches!

  7. how have we not written a book full of the ridiculous things that our children say?

  8. That was priceless! I’m impressed that you made the connection!

  9. This is outstanding! I love it!

  10. Mmmm…I hope Rich brings home a tasty steak!

  11. Matt will LOVE this!! I can’t believe that this came to Bennett’s mind to pray about, and (like others have said) I can’t get over it that you de-coded it!!

  12. Thats hilarious! Give me a call when you get a chance 🙂

  13. You are WAY too funny Bennett!

  14. Great Aunt Carol

    Now that is funny!!! Don’t forget to tell him that when he is an adult!!!!! I love telling my kids stuff that they said when they were small.

  15. That is hilarious!! It’s so funny the things they “hear” us say…

  16. Nicole,
    I am happy you found me. You are awesome at blogging and I might have to steal some ideas from you! I enjoyed many of your stories. This one is a great memory and us moms can just figure things out!

Talk to me!

