Catching Up

So many random thoughts to share…

On moving day for Zach and Michon:
-I didn’t take ANY pictures yesterday…bummer. Will was adorable as always, and it’d been nice to take a picture of me with the boys since it was Mother’s Day and all, but it didn’t happen.
-They are all moved in! Not settled, but their stuff is there. Wish I could have actually been more help, but the job got done.
-Luke and Bennett, while totally wowed by the backyard, really, really wanted to be helpers yesterday, and they took their job pretty seriously. Fortunately for them, the movers (Matt, my dad, brothers, and 2 of Michon’s nephews) were all understanding and didn’t seem annoyed at them being a bit underfoot.
-Jack Henry got hit in the head with an aluminum bat – thankfully, Bennett wasn’t swinging hard and I didn’t notice a lump – which is a frightening first in this family.

On baseball:
-Bennett is a SERIOUS Cardinals fan these days, reminding me so much of Luke at age 4 it’s scary. He always wants to watch a game, and he’s starting to remember the number of homeruns his favorite players have, etc. Really cute.
-Luke’s played in 2 of his team’s 3 baseball games, and he’s doing well! Loves batting, is a bit distracted in the field like many kids his age, and having a great time.

luke and his best friend, jackson, ready for their game.

luke and his best friend, jackson, ready for their game.

luke got to catch the first inning...he was so excited! i hope he got it out of his system, though...catchers have bad knees.

luke got to catch the first inning...he was so excited! i hope he got it out of his system, though...catchers have bad knees.

-This has nothing to do with baseball, but I caught this at the ballpark, so I had to share it. All morning long on Saturday, I kept telling Bennett, “Man, your legs look like they’re really long! Those shorts must be from last summer – they’re too short.” I just planned to let him wear them the rest of the day, and then wash them and put them away in storage. I finally checked the tag – no wonder they’re too short…they’re Jack Henry’s. They accidently got in his drawer…my fault.

who wears short shorts??

who wears short shorts??

On yardwork:
-Just when I thought I was finished planting flowers, Luke came home from school and Sunday school with two more that must be planted, and I came across a great planter at a yard sale on Saturday that I bought for $5 for my front porch, so I guess I’ve got just a little more work to do.
-Oh, and the one puny hosta who has barely made it’s appearance this year is getting replaced ASAP. I’ve been patient long enough, waiting for it to actually grow, but time’s up…I’m sick of the hole in the landscaping that it’s creating.
-We mulched this weekend, and the front is looking nice, IMHO.

see the big hole where the hosta should be?

see the big hole where the hosta should be?

see it, really tiny in the middle of the picture?  it should be as big as the one to the north and south of it...

see it, really tiny in the middle of the picture? it should be as big as the one to the north and south of it...

On running:
-I started week 3 of the training, and I thought I was going to keel over by the end of the last running interval, but I didn’t. Good news.
-I got these new shoes and broke them in on the first run of week 3…I think I’m going to like them. I only tried on about 20 pairs, and I hate that I’m between a 7 and a 7.5 in most brands. Having babies definitely changed my shoe size a bit (but still, for a girl who’s 5’7″ my feet are freakishly small).
-Luke and I ran together on Saturday (I’ll call it about a 1/2-2/3 of what I needed to do that day to stay on schedule) and he did really well! We went walked/ran up to his school and used the track for a couple of laps.

On Jack Henry:
-He did not have a nap yesterday at all – first time I can remember this happening. I am more than a little nervous about what today will bring.
-He is suddenly really independent…great sign that development is on track, but super-annoying for me. He wants to dress himself, and frankly, he can get his own pants on and even pulled up in the front (I’m thinking this is much earlier than either of his brothers), but it takes him FOREVER and now, he freaks out when you try to help him. Oh, this goes for socks and shoes (which he can’t do at all, obviously) and his seatbelt now, too. Yay.
-Yesterday I tried to put sandals (some cute zebra Tevas) on him for the first time ever, and he hated them and ripped them back off. Great.
-Ahem. I think he needs a haircut.

his hair was WILD on sunday morning when he woke up.

his hair was WILD on sunday morning when he woke up.

11 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Luke in a baseball uniform = too old. Please take him out of baseball. Thank you. Your yard looks GREAT to me!

  2. Looks like a busy weekend!
    JH and the sandals – same reaction with Kate and sandals – she will not wear a shoe without socks…. and sandals on her feet make her scream her head off – this should make for some interesting looks with capris this summer………

  3. Your running shoes are super cute! I love the dark color. I have black Nikes right now but I have had great luck with New Balance. That is what my sisters usually wear and they are serious runners. I start week 2 of running tonight. Keep your fingers crossed. Week 1 went really well.
    JH’s hair is what Sean’s looks like every day because he refused to brush it.

  4. Busy weekend! I’ll agree with Karen. Luke looks WAY too old in his uniform. Cute though!

    Bennett in Jack Henry’s shorts – I’m impressed he could put them on! I’ll probably do the same thing sooner or later with the girls clothes.

    Good job on the running! Keep it up, you’ll be glad you did! Especially when you finish that race with your siblings…..

  5. keep up the running. love JH’s hair and LOVE that Bennett is a huge cards fan! oh yeah and one more thing, your grass looks great! good job not killing it. 😉

  6. Too….much….little boy cuteness in one post! Seriously, all 3 of them are adorable in those pics.

    But I can’t stop staring at that pic of JH and his bedhead. 😉

    That “I must put on all my own clothes even though I can’t really do much or any of it” can’t be over with soon enough.

  7. The picture of Bennett in JH’s shorts doesn’t even look funny to me cause that’s how little boys wore shorts back in the day!

    Speaking of which, if the uniform were different, I’d swear that was Matt in the first picture!!

    Can’t WAIT to get there tomorrow; I’m ready for some serious little boy time!

    The yard & flower bed looks great! Hard telling about the hosta; they usually grow no matter what!

  8. i bought those same shoes a few months ago. i love them and almost bought another pair of them a few weeks ago at kohl’s. i get so many compliments on them.

  9. The yard & flower bed LOOK great, not LOOKS . . .

    Hate it when that happens . . .

  10. nice work on the yard, and super cute shoes! total running motivation 🙂

    um, can you tell your boys to quit growing up so quickly?!? JH is definitely not a baby anymore, and luke is about to sign up for little league…

    i think it’s hilarious that bennett fits into JH’s shorts!!!

  11. I’m convinced that good running shoes make you run faster and longer. And the “experts” at the running store told me to go up a half size, so I bought my first 7.5 of my life. Oh, well…they’re super cute.

    Way to go on the running…and the yardwork… and just about everything else!

Talk to me!

