Just A Glimpse

Maybe you don’t have kids and you wonder what it’s like to have several of them living in your house. Or maybe you have kids and will read this and shake your head in agreement/relief/disbelief. Maybe your kids are grown, and you barely remember what it was like to have little people littering in your house all day long filling your home with laughter and joy and tantrums.

Here are a few pictures from the last couple of weeks that show just what life is like chez Diehl.Ā  Just keepin’ it real.

sometimes, important things...

sometimes, important things...

..."accidentally" get thrown away (at least temporarily).

..."accidentally" get thrown away (at least temporarily).

big guys hang out with little guys (jack henry did this himself...isn't that adorable?)

little guys hang out with big guys (jack henry did this himself...isn't that adorable?)

boys get black eyes (not a bad one this time!)...i'm concerned that his teeth are going to be totally flat from making this face all the time.

boys get black eyes (not a bad one this time!)...i'm concerned that his teeth are going to be totally flat from making this face all the time.

this is approximately 7 minutes worth of work for jack henry.

this is approximately 7 minutes worth of work for jack henry.

really important meetings happen on a daily basis

really important meetings happen on a daily basis.

look very closely - you'll see vacuum marks.  i honestly vacuumed this room when it was full of toys and just pushed them around.  in my defense, i actually got the vacuum out for a different room.  yes, my cleaning services are for hire.

look very closely - you'll see vacuum marks. i honestly vacuumed this room when it was full of toys and just pushed them around. in my defense, i actually got the vacuum out for a different room. yes, my cleaning services are available for hire.

sometimes, you just really need a nap, and it doesn't matter where you land.

sometimes, you just really need a nap, and it doesn't matter where you land.

mom needs 3 minutes to put away laundry without a helper, and this is what he does...

mom needs 3 minutes to put away laundry without a helper, and this is what happens...

18 responses to “Just A Glimpse

  1. Love it – completely relating to all of the above – only a little more girlish! šŸ˜‰

  2. I loved this! Especially the Mr. Potato Heads Meeting lol

  3. Great post. I’ll admit that I sometimes “skim” over some of the kid-related posts, but this was PRICELESS!

    The Mr. Potato Head conference was great!

  4. There are days at the office that I would rather meet with Mr. Potato head and his pal’s…….

    Good stuff Nic!

  5. Guitars = so cute and sweet
    Trash = pretty sure we have lost remotes, utensils, shoes, etc that way
    Mr. Potato Head = stuffed animals attend our meetings

  6. pretty much my life in a nutshell plus one boy.

    love the pics!

  7. are you kidding…vacuuming while toys are out is the best time to do it. there’s always a mad dash to pick up so their toys don’t get sucked up.
    i love that jh has his own little play guitar.

  8. I TOTALLY have this type of post in mind to do soon! My fave is Jack Henry putting his guitar in, of course, the guitar spot! LOVE IT!

  9. Most of those pictures could have been taken in my house! Except substitute Mr. Potato Heads with Barbies!

  10. The toilet paper one made me laugh out loud. Then get a little teary eyed. My paper-rolling baby turns 27 tomorrow. *sigh*

    But are you sure the books strewn about were done by Jack Henry and not Nana Jo? You know how she gets. šŸ™‚

    • šŸ™‚ Let me tell ya, being w/ those little boys & their toys brings it back REAL quick how endless the messes are and how futile the tidying up!

  11. Priceless memories!

  12. papa ron would be proud of the e’ham park district kelly green shirt šŸ™‚

    so cute about the guitars!!!!

    what’s a vacuum? (gotta love hardwood!)

    • Jill (thebaglady)

      I noticed that shirt too. I was on “the green team” in small frey. Now Morgan starts this summer.

  13. I should do one of these posts. I can relate with just about all of these pics! Except instead of mr. potato head meetings, we have star wars guys meeting with barbies šŸ™‚

    My older two have even done the toilet paper thing while sitting on the potty going #2…..

    Our bookshelf looks like that almost all day long. And now, when I put a pile of clean clothes on the chair our floor looks like that with clean clothes from Kenzie….

  14. I’m catching up on the blogs you posted while I was at your house the last couple days! I love this one!

    I sure remember the days when wastebaskets had to be double-checked!

    I know I have a photo of each of our kids in a puddle of t.p. and always intended to have them matted & framed together for in the bathroom–never did.

    Had to chuckle at vacuuming around & among the toys; I used strewn-around toys as an excuse MANY times NOT to vacuum!

  15. Love the potato heads!!! If you don’t want the elmo book, Korry will take it……..dont waste good literature!

  16. Hilarious!!!

    Many important meeting transpire here as well šŸ˜‰

    So great my friend…so great!

Talk to me!

