My Effingham Trip, by Luke

Luke brought this story home from school the other day, and it really made us laugh. He said he wrote it a “long time ago” and his teacher dated it 04-09, so I’m guessing that he wrote this about 6 weeks ago. However, the trip he’s talking about took place last September when the remnants of Hurricane Ike blew through STL. I know that the last few weeks of their writers’ workshop in kindergarten have focused on them choosing an event and stretching out the details like a real author would.

My Effingham Trip (doncha love "chrip?")

My Effingham Trip (don't you love "chrip?")

I had a long trip to Effingham.

I had a long trip to Effingham.

I was excited (ixsidid! LOL!) to see my Pop (who is my dad - Nana Jo and Papa Ron were out of town that weekend, I think).

I was excited (ixsidid! LOL!) to see my Pop (who is my dad - Nana Jo and Papa Ron were out of town that weekend).

I went home.  (Notice that our van has somehow morphed into Matt's blue car over the first few pages).

I went home. (Notice that our van has somehow morphed into Matt's blue car over the first few pages).

And when I got home...(he reads this with so much expression!)

And when I got home...(he reads this with so much expression!)

And oh! no! The fence broke.

And oh! no! The fence broke.

While I do think it would be horrible if he were still spelling this way in high school, I do really, really love created spelling (especially when he takes the time to sound out the word all the way).

Have a great weekend, everyone!

13 responses to “My Effingham Trip, by Luke

  1. chrip and ixsidid!! hilarious and so sweet!!

  2. Ixsidid… that’s awesome

  3. I love it! Wow! That boy can draw!!

  4. That is adorable. So sweet. Hope the running is going well.

  5. excited is great….I could read it without the captions. Nice house…….why are you wanting to move?

  6. LOL, ixsidid…love it!

  7. that was a great story luke!

  8. So Funny! The “tr” sound is always “chr” to Paige, too! He did a great job!

  9. These kinds of stories are “musts” for posterity–they will provide uproarious laughs for his future wife & kids! 🙂

  10. Great job Luke! Love all the pictures!

  11. Today I’m sending you the Kreativ Blogger Award. (Sorry, I know you dislike intentional misspellings!) 🙂

    Anyway, I love reading about your adventures with your boys! I hope you can participate in the tag!

  12. awww, that kid is the cutest!!! and super smart! love the van/car morph!

  13. That is fantastic. I love it.

Talk to me!

