It’s My Husband’s Birthday! *UPDATED*

Today, my husband turns 34…that’s so, like, mid-thirties. Weird.

When he didn’t have a suggestion for his birthday/Father’s Day gift several weeks ago, I came up with my own idea and decided to upgrade the television in our bedroom. We’ve always joked about how small it is (13″, I think), and it’s not like I got a huge wall-mounted one to replace it, but it is much nicer (you know, HD, flat panel, all those things that have happened in the 8 years since we bought the little tv)…we will actually be able to see details in the picture now! I also found a steal on a DVD player, so we got that too.

Since I wasn’t actually going to set up the whole thing without his help, I wasn’t sure of a creative way to give him the present. So I had the boys draw pictures of him laying in bed, watching tv…we just gave him those, and made him guess what he got. Based on the pictures, I can see how it took a while. But I think he was excited!

here's bennett's drawing...no wonder he had no idea.  that's matt laying in our bed on the left, and apparently that wildly misshapen object on the right is our dresser with a tv.  not sure what all the green stuff is.

here's bennett's drawing...no wonder he had no idea. that's matt laying in our bed on the left, and apparently that wildly misshapen object on the right is our dresser with a tv. not sure what all the green stuff is.

ok, check out the detail!  the fan blowing a cool breeze, stuff stored under our bed (true), and next to the dresser that's a shelf with stuff piled on it.  on top of the tv is a dvd player that apparently has an antenna.  there's a weather forecast on the tv.

ok, check out the detail! the fan blowing a cool breeze, stuff stored under our bed (true), and next to the dresser that's a shelf with stuff piled on it. on top of the tv is a dvd player that apparently has an antenna. there's a weather forecast on the tv.

As as aside: when I took Luke with me last week to shop for the tv, he immediately asked, with a smile on his face, “What are you going to do with the old one? Can it go in my room?” Answer: “No. Maybe when you’re a teenager.” And then I proceeded to tell him about the little black and white tv we used when we went camping, which Dad let my siblings and me take turns having in our rooms when we weren’t camping. Luke could not believe that there were black and white televisions, and wondered if Papa still had that marvel at his house.

Here’s an actual email exchange that occurred yesterday. Matt’s not a huge fan of cake, but the boys wanted to “celebrate” his birthday (which means blowing out the candles).

Me: we need to have something sweet to celebrate your birthday with…it’s just not a bday without cake (or something). what sounds good?

Matt: ice cream sandwiches

Me: for real? like, do you want me to make some chocolate chip cookies and make the sandwiches?

Matt: no, i want the freezer-packaged kind.

Me: ahem. ok. gross.

Matt: what d’ya mean, “gross?” …. those rule.

For the record, I really don’t think they’re that bad…but if someone offered to make me homemade ones, I’d never choose the premade kind!

here are his delectable ice cream sandwiches!

here are his delectable ice cream sandwiches!

i bought myself something yummier than the traditional ice cream sandwiches.  these are mrs. fields'/breyers.  i'd give them a 7 out of 10.

i bought myself something yummier than the traditional ice cream sandwiches. these are mrs. fields'/breyers. i'd give them a 7 out of 10.

luke was thrilled with his dad's choice!  look closely at those baby teeth...they won't be there much longer!

luke was thrilled with his dad's choice! look closely at those baby teeth...they won't be there much longer!

jack henry was really confused by all of the action surrounding the tv in our room.  i think he was worried about seeing "handy manny" in the morning.

jack henry was really confused by all of the action surrounding the tv in our room. i think he was worried about seeing "handy manny" in the morning.

no, he's not hugging his birthday present...just installing the cable.

no, he's not hugging his birthday present...just installing the cable.

18 responses to “It’s My Husband’s Birthday! *UPDATED*

  1. Ice cream sandwiches do rule! Remember that cake Mom made last year with the sandwiches in the middle? Happy birthday, Matthew Lee! Love, Angie

  2. I just had to laugh at your email exchange with Matt because that is so Matt. I would LOVE to have your homemade ones. Matt’s just making it easier for you 🙂 Can’t wait to see the picture.

    Happy Birthday Matt!

  3. Happy Birthday Matt!! I’ll be your age soon enough. Mid Thirties I suppose since Nicole says so.

  4. Happy Birthday, Matt!!! Hope you enjoy your day!

  5. Matt cracks me up. But you gotta love a low-maintenance kinda guy. 😉

    Happy birthday, Matt!

    Do we get to see the boys’ artwork depicting the present?

  6. Happy Birthday, my beloved first-born, who put me through labor for approximately 1 1/2 days, only to stubbornly stay put until escaping via c-section!!!!!! (No hard feelings; not holding a grudge or anything. Just saying.)

    Hmmmm. 34.

    I, too, love store-bought ice cream sandwiches! However, if someone made me home-made ones, I’d pick them for sure!!

    I love you, Matt!!!

  7. Happy Birthday Matt! Hope to have you shotgun hunting with us by the time you are 40!

  8. happy birthday to my big brother!!! i mean, who even THINKS about ice cream sandwiches anymore?! they apparently still sell those things, huh? hilarious! i feel like cupcakes are the new “in” thing that everyone wants, now. hope you have a great bday week and don’t get too frustrated putting the tv together 🙂
    Love ya!

  9. I know its too late but you should check this recipe out!
    http://www.kraftfoods.com/kf/cookingschool/stepbysteprecipes/dessertrecipes/icecreamcake.aspx
    Its to die for!

  10. Happy Birthday Matt!

  11. Happy Birthday Matt……I would like those ice cream sandwiches ,too…..Love dad

  12. i must say, the ice cream sandwich was delicious. in fact, that is an understatement. it flat out ruled!! thank you for buying them, nic. and thanks for the TV & DVD player, too.

  13. That’s too funny b/c my sis was making fun of me this weekend (again) for the tiny tv in my bedroom that is way far from my bed and nearly impossible to see. I have been spending more time in my bedroom this week due to sheer exhaustion and thought. . . man, I really do need to upgrade!!!

  14. Happy birthday matt! And I LOVE ice cream sandwiches!

  15. Still laughing at Bennett’s drawing . . . and loving Luke’s detailed perfection! It looks like a good time was had by all! I’m so jealous of the new TV . . . here we are w/ 4 TVs in the house and not a flat screen in sight.

  16. Happy Belated Birthday Matt.
    I cracked up at the “hugging” the tv caption!

  17. Pingback: Desperation. « Here’s the Diehl

  18. love the pictures! and ice cream sandwiches, what a great idea!

Talk to me!

