Running Update

Well, there’s good news and bad news. I’ll give you the bad news first.

I still hate running. It’s just that simple. I also hate sweating. And being out of breath. None of those things bode well for my future as a runner. In St. Louis. Where the heat and humidity kill people every year.

For anyone interested in the “Couch to 5K” program I mentioned in earlier posts: I liked it for the first few weeks. The music didn’t bother me, I felt like I was pushed to keep going, and I was making progress. HOWEVER, week 3 contains a total of 9 minutes of running through intervals; week 4 goes all the way to 16 minutes. It was WAY too big a jump for someone in as bad of shape as I am. So, I kinda gave up on that and just started running to my own music. I have a little route now that I run that includes about a mile of running and a mile of walking.

The good news is that I’ve made a little progress in how far I’m able to run, and more than that, I really care about getting some exercise now. I don’t always want to get out the door, but I ALWAYS feel good about having exercised, and getting a little cardio in. I’ve also *gasp* started doing some workouts at home too, when I noticed that my arms were larger than ever. Inspired by Suzanne’s every-day-for-a-year fitness goal, I’ve been doing pushups almost every day, and about twice a week using an ancient arms workout (we’re talking VHS here, people) that I really like because it’s butt-kicking, containing 350+ reps and 40 pushups in a matter of 20 minutes.

So, while I’m not going to be able to run the whole 5k – it would be a miracle – this is still huge progress in getting me moving. Which is definitely a good thing.

12 responses to “Running Update

  1. i’ve hardly been running at all. i need to pull out a calendar and see exactly when i need to get serious for my 5k. i’m going to double up the c25k program again like i did last year since i’ve got time.
    don’t worry if you don’t run the whole 5k. you’ll still get a good workout and it feels good just to accomplish something new. if you have someone to run w/ that can push you, that helps. eric and i ran together for our 1st one and walked 2 minutes of it. i probably would have walked a lot more if i had been alone.
    good luck! you’ll do great.

  2. Way to go! You’re really moving, and that’s the most important thing! I can totally relate to hating sweating and being out of breath. I don’t enjoy my workouts, but I do enjoy what they do for me. People keep telling me that I’ll start to look forward to getting on the treadmill, but I’m still waiting….and I have an admitted love/hate relationship with Jillian Michaels.

  3. Keep it up… Getting out the door is somtimes the hardest part! Running in the heat and humidity is MUCH harder on me than it was when it was mild out.

  4. Nicole, I feel your pain. I did this same thing last year and felt proud that I built up my endurance, but never fell in love with exercising, which sucked.

    Then I hurt my back, stopped cold turkey, was too busy with homeschooling to make it a priority and am trying to get motivated again.

  5. Glad you updated us – I was wondering how your running was going. Glad you aren’t giving up!!

  6. nice work! your bridesmaid dress is going to be huge on you!!!

  7. Good for you!

    I’m also still exercising – I think I started about the same time as you – and I also still hate it. Now that we are in the brutal heat of summer it is really hard. I hate to sweat! I’m not losing much weight, but I do feel better. Keep up the good work!

  8. I’ve been meaning to ask about the running now that it’s gotten so hideously hot & humid. I’m still in awe that you’re doing this.

    And while I can accept that some people really do get hooked on exercise, I’m w/ “Joanna @ Grace . . .” about people looking forward to their treatmill time; I still can’t comprehend primarily-treadmill workouts, which I think is the most deadly boring activity, even w/ an attached TV.

  9. way to go! i’m very impressed. i am so out of shape, that i think if i even tried to run right now, i’d have a heart attack!

  10. This is awesome! You will feel such a sense of accomplishment when the 5K is over and probably won’t want to stop there!

  11. So glad you’ve been able to stick with it!

  12. That is awesome that you are doing so much! I started working out in May and Have really felt so much better! I feel more toned for sure. I can’t wait to reap the benefits though, seriously, that part can start showing itself any day. (sigh)

Talk to me!

