Pigsty.

OK, it’s not THAT bad. But this is waaay too unorganized for my taste. So, I thought that posting a picture of this extra cabinet space in my kitchen and my “Tupperware” cabinet (none of it is really Tupperware) in before/after mode will maybe help me keep it tidy.

filled with miscellany...a gift for someone, toys, plastic bags, sweatshirts that don't fit.  it's a mess.

BEFORE: filled with miscellany...a gift for someone, toys, plastic bags, sweatshirts that don't fit. it's a mess.

AFTER: ok, so it doesn't look that big of an improvement, but trust me, it is.  trash was thrown away, things organized, and there's actually room on the shelf.  novel concept.

AFTER: ok, so it doesn't look that big of an improvement, but trust me, it is. trash was thrown away, things organized, and there's actually room on the shelf. novel concept.

yes, i have about a jillion containers.  in the fall and winter, they're filled with soup in the freezer!

BEFORE: yes, i have about a jillion containers. in the fall and winter, they're filled with soup in the freezer!

AFTER: much better.  now i know where everything is, and all containers in there have a lid present and accounted for.

AFTER: much better. now i know where everything is, and all containers in there have a lid present and accounted for.

Also, I’m going to post the “before” pictures of my next project(s): tackling the basement storage areas, and getting pictures dated (remember, I’m a freak about them being in order) and in albums. I’m doing this in hopes of actually completing these projects sometime this summer so that I can post “after” pictures. I broke out in hives this weekend when Matt and I were driving home from Indy, talking about the (please God) plan to sell our house next spring. The hives sprang from the idea of needing the house to be in tip-top shape to show, and I thought, “What better time than now?” to purge stuff we don’t need or add to the ever-growing piles of garage sale stuff.

this is where all outgrown baby gear goes...i'd get rid of it but i'm terrified of a surprise pregnancy and then having to buy everything again.  i've heard of it happening too many times.

BEFORE: this is where all outgrown baby gear goes...i'd get rid of it but i'm terrified of a surprise pregnancy and then having to buy everything again. i've heard of it happening too many times.

this is one storage area in the basement.  christmas and other holiday stuff on the left, and miscellaneous on the right.

BEFORE: this is one storage area in the basement. christmas and other holiday stuff on the left, and miscellaneous on the right.

this is just a disaster.  things have collected here for some time now.

BEFORE: this is just a disaster. things have collected here for some time now.

just a bag full of pictures...not good.

BEFORE: just a bag full of pictures...not good.

Plus, I’m hoping some of you will join in with posts or comments of your own about areas of your home that you pretty much pray company doesn’t ever see.  I can’t be the only one, right?  RIGHT?

13 responses to “Pigsty.

  1. Right now that area is my garage…yikes! I’m not brave enough to post a picture on my blog!

  2. I’m SO impressed by your tupperware cabinet. I don’t care how many times I sort through mine (admittedly not often), it just doesn’t “stay.” That tall cabinet–I forget all about it over there and never think to look in there for anything.

    Nicole, you are far, FAR too organized & anal to even be in the ballpark w/ the likes of me. Not even a contender! No one but Sharon would believe what my house used to look like when our kids were little, and that was the VISIBLE part. I’m better (not “good”) now–but only b/c there are only 2 of us living here!

    Your “before” shots would make ME proud that I even have those things in concentrated places!! 🙂

  3. I agree with Nana Jo you are far too organized for me to be sharing things with you – you would probably faint if I took pictures of my “hiding” spots in my home….. your before pictures were looking good to me – i was trying to find something wrong with them! LOL 😉

  4. No, no. I agree with you, Nicole. Organization = happiness for me. I fully believe that it can decrease your stress level, leading to less damage to your heart and, therefore, a longer life. It’s true.

  5. Have to reply once more. I TOTALLY agree w/ you & Karen (& all of “your kind”) in that an organized, tidy, & relatively clean house = peace of mind and probably an overall happier place for the whole family to be! I love–LOVE–it when my house is in order & clean. HOWEVER, I am just so bad at it on a regular basis!

    You’d die if you knew how many books & articles I’ve read on the subject and how many times I’ve tried to turn over a new leaf! Somehow the stress of how my house looked/looks has never quite provided strong enough motivation to change my ways long-term! 😦

  6. This is so funny because right now at work, we are doing a lot of these before and after pictures to show how pretty tool drawers and cabinets can look when everything is organized. . . this reminded me of that!

    My only bad spot right now are my closets. My bedroom closets are clean, but some of the organization of clothing has gone out the window. There are sweaters next to sparkly tank tops next to a dress, next to a T-shirt. UGH. i don’t know how I let it come to this!

    This is the really sad thing. One of my spare room closets is bad. . . The thing is. . . I CAN’T GET MY CHRISTMAS TREES TO GO BACK IN THEIR BOXES PROPERLY THIS YEAR, AND IT’S RUINING MY LIFE. I am still trying to figure out proper storage for Christmas stuff like wreathes. They had containers for this at Target, but by the time I went to buy one. . . gone.

    My aunt and uncle decided to make a spontaneous trip to come see me in TX this week, and I told them. . . please don’t judge me by that closet. 😐 It WILL be addressed this weekend!

  7. You obviously didn’t look in Kayla’s closet when you were here this weekend. Behind her closet door is a MASSIVE amount of clothes that need to be put in containers with the containers sitting on top of them…..still haven’t gotten there!

    Oh, and you obviously didn’t look at my master bedroom closet either.

    I agree with you and Karen, it’s an awesome feeling to get something organized!

  8. Great Aunt Carol

    oh Nicole, if you saw some of my rooms right now, you would probably faint! I have such good intentions of keeping everything in order and it never works. I really am a slob at heart!!! Once in a blue moon, I will have the whole house clean at one time and I am so proud! I walk around thinking, boy, this looks good!!!! Then………I start letting things get out of hand once again. That has been my way for 46yrs! It is either looking really nice or completely upset and invariably, the doorbell will ring with unexpected guests when it is in its “upset” mode! You know, when I was younger, it really bothered me, but once I hit 65, I began thinking that there are more important things to worry about than if my carpet is vaccuumed or if everything is in its place. If my husband is able to tolerate the chemo he is on with no repercussions and if my Children and 16 Grandchildren are all well and happy, who gives a d***** if there is dust on the shelves?? 🙂 ?!?!

  9. Great Aunt Carol

    I forgot something…………….that bag of pictures made me laugh. I have boxes and bags and drawers full of pictures that need to be put into albums! I always think, One of these Sundays, I am going to dump them all out and organize them and put them into albums….yeah, when pigs fly!!!!

    I have talked to my daughters about some day getting together ( what year???) and sorting thru old pictures and having albums with them and putting the pictures into the albums right on the spot, otherwise, they are like their Mother, they will take them home and store them in boxes, bags and drawers!!! 🙂

    I admire women like you who get things done instead of just “thinking” about doing it!!!!!

  10. Funny note – i was reading – “great aunt carol’s” comments and thinking – i like this lady – i can totally relate………. then it dawned on me who Great Aunt Carol is……….. my MOM – blonde moment at it’s best!
    🙂

  11. I have a post coming tomorrow about this also. I have been doing some cleaning and updating myself and took some pictures for you. Iam exactly the same way!!

  12. all of your unorganized pictures put together = my closet (aka hiding place). it’s the only place no one else sees.

  13. Pingback: Because I’m So Prompt « Here’s the Diehl

Talk to me!

