Remembering…

A year ago this week, I drove with my boys to Effingham for what I thought was a quick, one-night stop to see my seriously-ill mother. When it became apparent that she was very near the end of her life, I temporarily moved in with my in-laws to be close. We stayed a total of 15 days (if you’re new here, or just thinking back to last year like I am, read here and here).

On Saturday, we’ll be burying my mom’s remains. She donated her body to science, and my dad received her remains last week, so we arranged to get this taken care of as quickly as possible, since Dad already had the headstone in place. There will be a brief, private graveside service. We aren’t bringing the boys, since we haven’t talked with them about cremation, and it’s not something I think they can easily comprehend just yet.

I can’t believe it’s nearly been a year. And yet, I can…so much has happened since then.

16 responses to “Remembering…

  1. Nicole – I have been thinking about you and praying for you a lot lately! I know the next couple of weeks will be hard – we will continue to pray for you!

  2. Praying for you…. and everyone…..
    I have your mom’s prayer card (or whatever you call it) hung right here next to my computer. I think of her often. She was an awesome lady.

  3. i can’t believe it’s been a year. i hope you guys (all of you) are okay.

  4. I thought of you so much in the past couple days saying goodbye to my grandpa. It will be hard, Nicole. There is no doubt. However, your strength and faith have always been characteristics in you that I admire most. I will be praying for your family.

  5. Praying for you during this tough time. Your mom sounds like an incredible lady.

  6. Sounds like a very generous woman. What an awesome legacy.

  7. We are praying for you and your family.

  8. I am thinking and praying for you as you continue to celebrate your mother. Take care!

  9. sending strength your way!

  10. I’ll be thinking of you and your family.

  11. Profoundly sorry for your loss. She sounds like a wonderful lady. What a wonderful reunion someday…

    In prayer for you and your family during this time my friend…

  12. Wow. . . I can’t believe it’s been a year either. Prayers and love coming from Houston. . .

  13. I’m sending bear hugs from Michigan and will be thinking of all of you guys tomorrow. Your sweet mama is missed for sure.

  14. Nicole – I’ll be sending extra prayers your way tomorrow. You and your family will pull strength from each other, I know. You have one amazing family!

  15. This whole month I’ve been thinking of this time last year. It was such a hard time, and I know that this weekend and the coming 2 wks will especially bring it back. I pray that in some way, tomorrow can be a continuation of healing for all of you.

  16. Great Aunt Carol

    Nicole, Just want you to know that I have been thinking of you and your Mother alot lately. I can not believe that it has been a year since she passed away. She was a great lady in the true sense of the word. I will never forget seeing her a few days before she died. My heart just broke seeing her lying there. That was the very first time that I had seen Arlene without a smile on her face. Your Grandma Alene told me a long time ago that your Dad had told her that he and your Mom were meant for each other. They enjoyed the same things and saw humor in the same things and generally thought the same. They were lucky to have found each other. Hang in there, Honey.

Talk to me!

