The Bachelorette.

No, not the show, silly…my cute SIL Heidi is the bachelorette, and Saturday night was her big night!

look at her wine glass!

look at her wine glass!

Here was my itinerary:
Friday, 11pm: Try to fall asleep despite kid-at-Christmas anticipation.

Saturday, 3am: Awakened by Bennett, who needed something random in the middle of the night; contemplate just getting up for the day. Change my mind.

4:30am: Wake up again, this time on my own.

5am: Alarm goes off. I jump out of bed and get in the shower.

6:15am: Leave STL for Chicago!

6:16am: Begin singing loudly in my car to my own song choices (oh, the glorious sound of my own music choices filling the car for hours on end is too delightful for words). This lasts approximately the whole trip, minus a few phone calls.

7am: Drink a very large Dr. Pepper…one needs energy for a trip like this.

11:00am: Crack up at my Tom-Tom, which is freaking out at me because I’m not driving the route she wants me to take. I’m sure she’d be cursing at me if she could.

11:20am: Arrive at my first destination, Karen‘s house! Because I am vying for greatest friend ever, I bring her almost-4-year-old his birthday present: an ant farm. I know, I totally rock. I asked him very nicely not to open his ant farm in the house because I still want to be friends with his mommy.

12:15pm: Karen and I depart for a few hours, which includes lunch at Tap House Grill, a trip to the mall, and loads of laughter (seriously…I cried one time I was laughing so hard).

4pm: Quick picture of me and Kar, and off to the city!

i really wish we lived closer to each other!

i really wish we lived closer to each other!

4:30pm: Cursing Chicago traffic. I heart STL.

5:20pm: Arrive at the condo, where the party will begin in just 40 minutes! Quick get ready and visit with the girls.

andrea, heidi, me...i look like an amazon woman b/c a) i am taller than them but b) i believe i was the only one in heels

andrea, heidi, me...i look like an amazon woman b/c a) i am taller than them but b) i believe i was the only one in heels

6pm: Let the fun begin! Heidi opens presents, we have wine, and tell funny stories about the guest of honor.

pardon the weird cropping...i promised no inappropriate pictures on the blog!

pardon the weird cropping...i promised no inappropriate pictures on the blog!

7:15pm: Off to dinner at Eivissa, a brand new tapas place. Good eats, yummy sangria, and for some reason (possibly the wine mentioned above), I ate a little bite of octopus. It was GROSS. And a lovely reminder as to why, as a general rule, I don’t eat anything from the ocean…it all stinks.

we took this one for my boys, who are fascinated with the idea of riding in a cab.

we took this one for my boys, who are fascinated with the idea of riding in a cab.

10:00ish? Time is a bit fuzzy here: Off to Market (the link shows you what our view was like), where we had a cute little cabana on the rooftop, and more delicious drinks. Hilarity ensues with a game of “I Never.”

Sunday, 12:00am: Rooftop is closed…we have to leave. We assemble near the door, where the bouncer tells us we can’t stand. So we move outside onto the sidewalk (a group of 10-12 of us), where the bouncer also tells us we can’t stand. Nice.

12:15am: Cab ride back to condo. Stay up way later snacking and talking. Decide to go to bed at 1:30am.

2:00am: Actually go to sleep after talking more with a sweet friend of Heidi’s named Hillary who was my roommate for the night…we were talking about important stuff like 32 boxes of Annie’s crackers.

8:30am: Up for the day, rehashing the night with those who are awake and alert. I am tired, but feeling great. I will never have another hangover in my life (making good on my promise made here).

10:00am: Take Hillary to Union Station, and head for the burbs…and IKEA! πŸ™‚

10:45am: Take this picture for Kelli.

the happiest place on earth...wait, isn't that their slogan?

the happiest place on earth...wait, isn't that their slogan?

11:45am: Leave IKEA, sad at my few purchases (loving my new Trygg serving bowl, which I will use as a trifle dish), but with my head full of ideas for the immediate future and for when we move someday. I’m going to give my Poang chairs a makeover, I think! When we bought these 7 years ago, there were two cushion choices (natural and black) and one choice of wood (birch). Now there are lots of choices, including leather cushions!

4:15pm: Home sweet home.

Fun, fun weekend…and only two weeks until the wedding!

10 responses to “The Bachelorette.

  1. YAY!! I’m glad you had such a good weekend away! Plus…you ended the trip by visiting the magical land of Ikea…what more could a girl want πŸ™‚

    Welcome Home!!

  2. Laughing at your itinerary! Only you can make a long driving trip sound fun!

    The pics are so cute–can’t wait to see more–hopefully Andrea took a bunch! I’m so jealous–we didn’t have bachelorette parties back in 1971!!

    The pic of you & Karen: why does she look like it’s July, and you look like it’s January? πŸ™‚

    • It was so chilly the night before (and that morning) that I pulled out a spring scarf πŸ™‚ Or were you referring to her skin color vs. mine? Because there is no explanation for that.

  3. fun! i bet they’re getting excited for the wedding.

  4. This weekend was so fun, and Heidi has awesome friends!! I had so much fun hanging out with everyone!! Market was amazing! Can’t believe Heidi will be walking down the aisle in less than 2 weeks!!

  5. Laughing at Nana Jo! SO FUN to see you. And, could you please expand on the game “I Never” ?

  6. good thing you said you weren’t hungover–otherwise everyone would have known what you were busy doing during “i never.” hehe. SO MUCH FUN! i am depressed the weekend is behind me now 😦 thanks again for everything and for driving all the way up here! hooray for rooftop cabanas and heat lamps!

  7. What fun!! I’m so jealous! I love Chicago! I can’t wait to check out those places when I go again!

  8. Horray for roadtrips! Can’t believe Heidi’s wedding is so soon! Wasn’t her engagement post just yesterday??? Glad everyone had fun and that you got to see Karen, too! So great to have friends you can laugh ’til you cry with. . . they are keepers! πŸ™‚

  9. Looks like a fun, fun time. You are all gorgeous!

Talk to me!

