School Supplies? Check.

Last year, I blogged about the date that Luke and I went on when we bought his school supplies. It’s funny, because while I’ve thought of that evening many times, I’d forgotten the particulars and was thankful that I’d posted about it.

I’ll wait here while you go read last year’s quick post where I talk about hineys and car manufacturing…

Back? Ok, so last night was our shopping night, and it was pretty similar to last year in that we went to Walmart, bought his supplies (including 16 glue sticks – for the love, what are they going to be gluing??), and then went to Fritz’s for ice cream. Again, he had a chocolate cone, but this year, it wasn’t quite as hot and he wasn’t quite as messy. However, we did have a funny moment when we opened the back of the van so we could sit on the bumper and he fell, bottom first, into the back and had chocolate ice cream running down his leg. Only Luke…

I seriously love this tradition already. We talked about how next year, I’ll have to have a date night with Bennett, too, since he’ll be a kindergartener (I think my heart just skipped a beat). And Luke said that we should keep doing this until he’s in 5th grade, and I said that I wanted to keep doing it every year he’s in school. He said, “I think we should even do it when I’m in college! Except then, I’ll buy your ice cream.” It took all my strength not to burst into tears right there and simultaneously command him to never get any older.

But I figure that by then, the least he can do is buy me ice cream. I’m holding him to it.

8 responses to “School Supplies? Check.

  1. i don’t even want to think about our kids being old enough to be in college. it’s hard even thinking about kenny going to kindergarten this year.

  2. Oh, sniff sniff. Little does he know that that is when he’ll need your money the most! πŸ™‚

  3. I love, love, love your tradition of doing the school supply shopping with your boys. Very sweet. πŸ™‚

  4. Dear Nicole,
    Thanks for the tears.
    Love,
    Megan

  5. What a cute tradition. Glad that you will be blogging about it year after year, to allow yourself perspective on how much changes in the year. This year, he wasn’t quite as messy as last year. As Luke mentioned, he’ll be in college at what point. Excited to find out what’ll happen during those precious years in between!
    findingschools.wordpress.com

  6. i do this too with my kiddos. this was the first time for olivia, so of course, it was two different times! i think i like it as much as them. πŸ™‚
    luke is such a sweetheart! ❀

  7. “Except then, I’ll buy your ice cream”–that is so cute I can’t stand it!!!

  8. What a sweet boy. . . πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

