First Grade.

I tried not to be all teary-eyed and anxious about today, but the truth is, I wanted to go back to bed and curl up in a ball and just pretend like this isn’t happening. As big a deal as the start of kindergarten was, this feels so much bigger to me. The start of all-day school feels like an avalanche that isn’t going to stop until Jack Henry graduates from high school.

I’m just not ready for Luke to be gone all day! In the last several months, and especially over the summer, he’s just matured so much in terms of helping around the house and entertaining his brothers, and in his ability to have an interesting conversation.Ā  He and Bennett are best buddies, though they fight like typical brothers do.

However, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that a selfish part of me thinks that my days will be a little easier now with one less person to entertain all day long. In many ways, too, I think this will be good for Bennett, getting to experience the big brother role a little more fully throughout the day, and allowing him to develop a relationship with Jack Henry that otherwise might not happen when his more fun older brother is around.

Here are the first day pics:

jack henry wouldn't move from the "picture spot," so i just told luke to hop up there and get a pic with him!

jack henry wouldn't move from the "picture spot," so i just told luke to hop up there and get a pic with him!

bennett is going to miss him SO much...

bennett is going to miss him SO much...

he is so proud of his new lunchbox!

he is so proud of his new lunchbox!

this is cute, except bennett is itching a new mosquito bite acquired 3 minutes before this was taken.

this is cute, except bennett is itching a new mosquito bite acquired 3 minutes before this was taken.

i just love taking group shots of my boys....

i just love taking group shots of my boys....

aww, jack henry is even going to miss luke!  wait, no.  he just wants the leapster.

aww, jack henry is even going to miss luke! wait, no. he just wants the leapster.

After-school report from Luke:
I said, “So, how was it?” as soon as he got in the car, and he didn’t really answer before Bennett said, “Tell me what you didn’t like and what you did like.” Luke just beamed and said, “I REALLY LOVED ALL OF IT!” Oh, it was so cute. I wish I had a recording.

He detailed his day for me pretty well, though I am looking forward to curriculum night, where we’ll get a much better idea of what his routine is like. I asked him if it felt like a long day or felt like it went pretty fast, and he said, “It seemed like I was there for 12 hours!” I’m curious to see how this wears him out these first few weeks as we adjust to our new schedule.

8 responses to “First Grade.

  1. Aww!! I’m tearing up!! So proud of Luke.

  2. Oh Jeez! Shoulda warned me about this post! I was welling up at the beginning, but then you perked it up at the end so I’m feeling better. Luke looks SO mature and ready. Way to go, mom!

  3. So glad he loved his first day of school!

  4. yay! i’m so excited for him šŸ™‚ let’s start praying that he feels this way at the start of school every year!

  5. awwww!!!! sooooo sweet! i love the pic of bennett squeezing him! i knew luke would love it! he’s going to be teacher’s favorite! šŸ™‚

  6. Jill (thebaglady)

    That’s awesome he liked it so much. Mine still do – I wonder when that will start to change.

    Just a warning: beware of after school Friday grumpies. My kids still are exhausted by the end of the week. And they are both totally thirsty at the end of each school day too.

  7. What a stroke of luck that I got to be here this evening to hear Luke tell about his 1st day of school! Love the pics; that tree has been the backdrop for some great ones!

  8. i really liked this post because who doesn’t remember getting their picture taken outside before the first day of school. i still remember exactly what i wore most years in those pictures. these are great memories for luke!

Talk to me!

