My Thanks to Bennett…

…for practically writing this post for me yesterday while the two of us spent some time together. I know that this is probably funnier to me because 1) I was there to hear him say it in his cute voice and 2) he’s my kid, and things that your own kids do is always less funny to other people than it is to you. But this is my blog, so I’m writing this anyway, in hopes that the funny translates.

Yesterday morning, as I was getting kids ready for church, I realized that Bennett didn’t have any hand-me-down church shoes in his size…how Luke skipped from a 10 to a 12 I’ll never know, since his feet seemed to grow as slow as molasses for years. So I decided that Bennett and I would do a little Sunday-afternoon shoe shopping together. For those of you who have been reading for a while, you know that this is not always the easiest task, as my boy has some mild sensory issues (I’m going to be revisiting that topic soon, so stay tuned!). Since it was just going to be the two of us out and about, I decided we’d try and take care of another errand which has to do with Matt’s and my upcoming tenth wedding anniversary (yay! Lots more about that soon, too!).

In order to get him excited about the extra errand, I whispered to him, “After we get your shoes, we have to go on a secret mission. We need to find X and Y for Dad for me to give to him for our anniversary. But you can’t tell anyone! It’s our secret.”

Bennett, whispering back to me: “This isn’t a real secret mission.”

Me, still whispering, and kind of wondering why, since we’re the only two in the room: “Yes it is! No one else knows about it. That makes it a secret mission.”

Bennett, again with the whispering: “Well, it doesn’t FEEL like a real secret mission.”

Touche.

In the car, I started with, “Ok, buddy, we’ll get your shoes first…” and then he cut in with, “It’s not a secret mission but you think it is.” (Thankfully, he left out what I’m sure he was thinking, which is was, “Mom, you are SO lame.”) I asked him what a real secret mission would be, and he said “Like one with Scooby and Shaggy.” I then asked, “You do know that they aren’t real, right?”

He was being funny, and he knew it, and I loved it.

We did find some shoes. Because he has a slightly wide foot but not exactly wide enough to necessitate a wide shoe, and he’s got some issues, finding shoes is not fun. Of the three choices I gave him, these were my favorite (and Jack Henry is getting them because he also has a wider foot, and the ones I tried to shove on his feet yesterday morning made him cry):

461228

But he picked these:

461238

Don’t these look like the house slippers you gave your 86-year-old grandpa for Christmas last year? Yeah, I thought so, too. But you know what? He liked them, they fit, and they are nice enough to wear with khakis at church. I’m satisfied.

My secret mission, however, did not go as well…must shop online.

14 responses to “My Thanks to Bennett…

  1. β€œIt’s not a secret mission but you think it is.”

    That is laugh-out-loud funny. πŸ™‚

  2. I second Bennett’s choice, super cute shoes.

  3. That’s hilarious! He reminds me of Zach. While watching home movies I realized that Zach has been funny his whole life, and I just didn’t see it (or tried to ignore it.) I think we should go on a secret mission with Scooby and Shaggy, THAT would be awesome! lol

  4. What brand are these wider then most but not wide width shoes – do they make girl’s styles??

    Love Bennett’s take on the “secret mission!”

  5. Duh – ignore that……. i just got smart enough to click on the pictues and find you linked me right up! πŸ™‚
    It is MONDAY!

  6. You just can’t get anything by that kid! Most kids would be super-excited about a “secret mission”–but Bennett calls you out on it!!

    On an old geezer, the shoes would look like slippers, but on a little boy, I think they’re cute. The other ones were cuter, though. 😦

  7. they only look old geezer is Matt, my husband would be an old geezer because we got HIM those slippers for Christmas last year! lol.

  8. very cute!

    does anyone know if they make any toddler shoes in narrow?

  9. Love both shoes! And that Bennett…such a character. Didn’t think they’d be humoring you at such a young age!

  10. jeff and i are laughing!

  11. I LOVE the out of mouths of babes posts. . . and I am not even all *that* biased! πŸ˜‰ I love books written from kids perspectives, too. . . because they are just so. . . honest.

    Sorry you didn’t have luck on your secret mission!

  12. i can’t wait to hear more about your secret mission (even if it ended up being on-line).

Talk to me!

