Evidence…

…that years of parenting is mellowing me (in some regards).

Year 1 of parenting: this issue was not an issue, because Luke was just a baby. In fact, I didn’t even realize that this could potentially become an issue, I was so green. Window clings? What are window clings?

Years 2-3: “No, we’re not buying those window clings for the front windows. Why? Because they’re tacky. And because I said so. Did I just say that? Wow. I guess I did. It’s true that you turn into your mother. Anyway, sorry, the answer is still no.”

Years 4-6: “Ok, we can get some window clings. Here, these are pretty cute. Now let me help you arrange them on the window so they are symmetrical and orderly. There, now, wasn’t that fun?”

Year 7:
window clings 1

window clings 2

And, these have already been rearranged, courtesy of Jack Henry, more than once.

I’ve come a long way, baby.

13 responses to “Evidence…

  1. Wow, I could just cut and paste this (with different pictures) in my own blog! funny!

  2. What about the giant spider?

  3. I’m right there with you. We have tacky, ugly Chirstmas window clings that were brought into our home after child number 2 arrived. By the time child number 3 arrived I had given up all sense and let them place the ugly decorations wherever they wanted. It happens so fast!

  4. Like a fine wine, moms really do get better with age. 🙂

  5. Yep…it happens. We eventually do what they want! I even allowed hanging a big spider web with spiders in our living room this year.

  6. HAHAHA! That is so me and my windows…. Exactly!

  7. my only question is where are the finger prints? Your windows are soo clean!

  8. Things I remember as a kid: the cardboard halloween window decorations I got to put up each year and the tacky felt Christmas banner that hung from the door every year. This is something I SO bend on for that reason alone.

  9. Made me laugh! I remember trying to make them look like a decorative scheme (like yrs 4-6)! But, honestly, I didn’t care for long. I knew stuff like that was just part of having little kids, and there would be lots of years later w/ no childish artwork or “decorating”! It’s fun for them, and you know they’ll remember it.

  10. Too funny…..I bought window clings for the first time this year 🙂

  11. Totally bought one of those tacky blow up things for the yard today! I swear I never would.

  12. Pingback: Mellowing « 3inunder3

Talk to me!

