End of an Era

For better than two years, Bennett hasn’t been able to say a “th” sound.  My favorite example of this has always been when he says “ganks” or “gank you”.  It’s adorable…I mean, I didn’t still want him saying it like that at 7, but at 4?  Really cute.

This morning, at breakfast, I heard him say “thanks.”  And then I asked him to repeat it, and he first said “ganks” and then caught himself and said “thanks.”

<sob>

One step closer to kindergarten…

10 responses to “End of an Era

  1. I can’t believe it, but I don’t think I was even aware of this mispronunciation!

  2. Did he just overcome that himself or were you working with him on that sound?

  3. Jill(thebaglady)

    It’s kind of like when Blake stopped calling my mom “bag-a-low”. We all miss it… “grandma” just isn’t as personal.

  4. wah. I just realized Will still says “yet’s” for “let’s”. He can keep that up, as far as I’m concerned.

  5. NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it was tooooooooo cute!!!!

  6. Awwww I loved hearing the “gank you!”

  7. That’s great…..our youngest cannot pronounce his R’s very well and says some of the cutest things, but I know one day that will change! You’re excited for them, but you’ll miss the words that you grew to love!! ; )

  8. This will definitely be missed…..

  9. Cooper cannot differentiate between “r” and “w” and he can’t say a hard “c” (He says his name is “tooper”). This is totally adorable to me and so I can’t imagine the day he learns to say them correctly! AH! So cute!

Talk to me!

