Perspective

As I was telling Bennett about how, years ago, before kids, it used to be just Daddy and me in our apartment and then in our house, he said, “I bet you were like, ‘I wish we had some kids right now!'” A minute later, as we were still discussing this childlessness phenomenon that he can’t even wrap his brain around, he said, “I bet Dad was like ‘If you don’t get kids right now you’re fired!'” Obviously, this cracked me up.

It is getting hard to remember what it was like before we had them. I don’t wish we’d waited longer (we were married 3 years before Luke was born) but I do wish that we’d realized how much we should enjoy the little bit of time we had together before we were responsible for other people. We also should have slept more during those years.

Kelli recently blogged about being in a restaurant and realizing, wow, we’re a family now. As we sat around a restaurant table last night, I couldn’t help but think of the same thing…this is really my family! And how far we’ve come in ten years’ time, and how thankful I am for these boys. Even if one of them did wake me at 2:45 this morning to get him a kleenex that was literally 18 inches from his face (Bennett), and another woke me at 5:15 with his worst bloody nose ever (and first in a long time), creating massive amounts of laundry (Luke). Oh well. I’ll sleep when they’re grown.

9 responses to “Perspective

  1. Bennett always cracks me up. What a guy!

    Yes, you’ll sleep when they’re grown. You’ll even be able to go to bed when they are still awake and know that they’ll shower, finish all their homework and put themselves to bed.

    Waking them up in the morning becomes the hurdle, not keeping them asleep. 🙂

    Seriously, it goes by so fast that some day you’ll wonder where all that time went. My baby is graduating from high school in May. How did that happen?

  2. Cute. We were looking at our wedding pictures this weekend and Abby kept saying “where am I” which is about impossible to explain to a 3 year old!

    I too got the middle of the night kleenex call ….

    kids what WOULD we be doing without them…. oh yeah sleeping and keeping up on tv shows – oh and probably dealing with the extra money lying around too! 🙂 HA!

  3. I too think about the days before we had kids and it is getting harder and harder to remember. Cory and I were married 4 years before we had Claire and I wish just as you said that we had cherished those times more, gone out more and traveled more.
    I haven’t had a good nights sleep in a week, if it isn’t Claire waking me up to go with her to the bathroom (she doesn’t like to go a night in the dark by herself even though we have nightlights in the hall and in the bathroom) or for a tissue. Paige has gotten Claire’s cold and is having a hard time sleeping because she is so congested. I guess I am with you we will sleep when there grown, but then will we really or will we stay awake at night worried about them and their happiness, who knows!

  4. But the ironic thing is that one day you’ll look back and say “but I do wish we’d realized how much we should enjoy the little bit of time” you had when they were young and thought you were the best woman ever and Matt was the best man. We’re constantly living in a time we will long for once time passes, it seems. I walked around on campus and thought – I really wish I would have taken advantage of being a student down here even more. Nostalgia. I’m going to go cry now.

  5. I ditto everything Karen said! Guess it’s just human nature to long for times in the past that we feel like we didn’t fully appreciate or live “in the moment”! I drive myself crazy thinking back to when our kids were young and I was always wishing time away.

    Now I watch your boys and just want to slow time down to a crawl. When I allow myself to think about my age, I want to stop the clock completely. Events & seasons are rushing by faster each year, and the older I get, the more nostalgic & emotional I get.

  6. It’s so weird to think that in a few short months, I’ll be thinking back to my life with Eric before children! 🙂 I’m super excited for the future but trying to really enjoy these last days before our lives change forever! 🙂

  7. I remember Beka Bohlman telling me and Amy S. one day that the reason she was excited to be pregnant (obviously this was a while ago) was that she and Kurt had so much love in their lives that they couldn’t wait to share it with another person. I loved that and I still think of it today. It is so wonderful-and such a gift-to get to share the love we have with our children. They bless us so much in return too!

  8. Aww….that is just so sweet! I can’t even remember what filled our lives before children…..isn’t that funny! And yes, sitting around the dinner table brings it all home – this is your family and what a blessing they are!

    Angela

    And P.S. – I have been lurking on 6pm.com for awhile now and just recently started ordering. For some reason they have amped up their deals lately and it’s been awesome…..I hope you find a deal that fits you very soon! ; )

  9. I’m pretty sure it’s just one of those things that is impossible to really appreciate until you actually have kids and think back.

Talk to me!

