This. Is. Huge.

This won’t be an exciting post for most of you, but this is so exciting for me that I have to write it!

These pictures have nothing to do with this post; I just think they’re funny. Jack Henry was throwing a little tantrum on Saturday morning (generally, like this time, he just lays down flat on the floor without doing a lot of kicking/screaming/crying) and I thought he just looked ridiculous laying there in those jammies, so I grabbed my camera. In the second picture, you can see that he snapped out of it pretty quickly.

jh throwing fit 1

jh throwing fit 2

I recently started thinking about all of the words I hear Jack Henry say on his own. Check out this list of words that he uses independently (italics are words that I included in my last post):
Luke (totally recognizable now; he says “oook”)
Bennett
hi
bye (sounds like “bob” b/c he’s saying “bye-bye”)
dog
eat
uh oh
cheese
Elle
pizza
hoop
poop
ball
apple
juice

catch
soccer
wall
cookie
milk
choo-choo
Elmo
Grover
book
go
“your dog is nowhere near” (um, this is from the movie “Bolt.” And no one would ever know that’s what he’s saying, but he’s heard it a lot from Bennett, and I can tell by his inflection that he’s saying it!)
thank you
more
no
chess
shoes
socks
“yes i did” (also from “Bolt”)
toot
“hi dad/mom” or “bye dad/mom”
hoop
“shoot two”
Buzz
cow
Woody
cars
work
school
church
home
squirrel
cheeseburger
hot dog
banana
warm
water
diaper
chair
color

He’s also occasionally putting together two words like “Bye-bye hoop” when he leaves the basement (where his new basketball hoop is).

He labels (not just identifies) these body parts:
nose
eyes
mouth
hiney
neck
hair
ear
arm
leg
hand
foot
and a couple of other body parts that I won’t mention, which my sister Hayley and SIL Michon had the pleasure of hearing last weekend.

Most of these are fairly understandable by anyone, not just me acting as translator. He also repeats any family member’s name pretty well, and knows everyone by their picture but can’t always come up with all of his aunts and uncles’ names by himself.

This is such major progress that I had to share!

10 responses to “This. Is. Huge.

  1. Wow! That is such a huge list of words in such a short amount of time.

    I can’t help but smile that Elle made the list. 🙂

  2. The tantrum looks so very familiar!

  3. i too love that Elle made the list 🙂

    nicole, he seriously melted my heart yesterday morning at church. he had on the biggest smile. sure he has tantrums, but he couldn’t be a happier kid!

    keep it up, jack! you’ll be talking non-stop in no time & mom will be looking for the mute button.

  4. This is quite a list! Is Heiny (spelling) in that taboo list of body parts? Because I’ve heard it with my own 2 ears!

  5. i saw pictures of JH in these pj’s on facebook and i LOVE them. They are so who-ville! very cute and awesome job JH on all those words. Impressive!

  6. I am so excited for you……and I had to laugh at the movie quotes…..my kids loved “Snowdogs”, still do and Noah used to quote that movie all the time when he was little.

  7. I’m so excited at how fast he’s progressing! The last time I was there, it was so fun to hear him, and I can’t WAIT to have him here this wkend!

  8. Nic- Michon couldn’t stop laughing telling the story about him last Saturday… hilarious!

  9. Nicole – I just came across your blog – it’s great. What a sweet boy you have (well, all your boys are cute!)

Talk to me!

