Terrible Twos

As I’ve suspected in the past, along with two-year-molars comes two-year-old behavior. This was confirmed last week when Jack Henry’s first molar popped through and his behavior, that VERY day, turned into that of a toddler.

My sweet, baby-faced little pumpkin now becomes a monster during the portion of his day that is dictated by me.

sweet baby-faced little pumpkin stage.

i really liked this stage, too.

and here he is in the monster stage. notice this is blurry, which means it was an action shot. legs were a'kickin'.

And I’m pretty sure that the last shred of my sanity just packed her bags and walked out the front door a little bit ago. Sigh. I keep repeating my new mantra, “This is the last time I’ll have a 2-year-old, this is the last time I’ll have a 2-year-old, this is the last time…” but so far, it’s not helping.

Jack Henry has to put his own pants on, which means that they sometimes look like this:

and, the outfit doesn't match, either. because on this day, he also insisted on picking out his shirt, and i didn't have it in me to duke it out over a shirt. you've got to pick your battles, right?

He’s obsessed OBSESSED with Elmo. That shred of sanity? She walked out humming “La La La La, La La La La, Elmo’s World.”

He also uses his favorite word, “NO!” (or sometimes his other favorite word, “NONONONONO!NO!“), to answer virtually any question or even statement that is lobbied in his direction. And, he’s using the power of “no” + being a 2-year-old to limit his diet even further, which just infuriates me.

Yes, I know, this, too, shall pass. But it passes into three, which I’m also not crazy about for a lot of reasons, not the least of which is my last experience with a 3-year-old in this house.

The light at the end of the tunnel, though, is that Bennett (the afore-mentioned 3-year-old) has blossomed into a really wonderful 4-and-a-half-year-old.

Now, simply for entertainment’s sake, here’s the rest of JH’s tantrum.

And the “I’m thankful he’s still in diapers or that would be a major plumber’s crack” shot:

So while part of me just wants to hit fast-forward on the next two years through the nonsense, the rest of me says “no way.” Because then I’d miss things like Jack Henry bringing me a marker and asking me to color with him, or him identifying and knowing that he loves the color green (so much so that his brothers are seriously annoyed that he’s used up their new green marker already), or him pretending to write his name when we’re coloring. Or the way he moves his 2-year-old booty to the beat of a song he likes. I’m trying hard to remember those moments when he’s shouting “NO!” at the top of his lungs for the umpteenth time and it’s only 8am.

11 responses to “Terrible Twos

  1. What’s funny is that before they turn two it’s just so darn cute when they say NO at you. Landon is doing it occasionally now and it makes me laugh every time. In six month, however, I know that with NO will also come serious attitude. I’m bracing myself now…

  2. I can tell there is some relation there between him and Katie – or heck might just be the age – she acts the SAME way!
    Right now she has a runny nose so in her eyes the entire world should stop so that they can hold her and be her personal tissue. (Last night as I was rocking her for bed – she pulled my tshirt up to her nose and wiped her nose….) nice.
    She also thinks NO answers EVERY question – but deep down I love this stage of hearing her new words and her sweet voice saying “where Abby”……. usually later followed by NO ABBY! – and then a hear a quiet thud as she hits her sister on the back……… oh good times………. (rolling eyes)

  3. So there IS light at the end of the Two/Three tunnel? šŸ™‚ Even though you didn’t write this post specifically to encourage, I feel a bit better knowing that the potential for a lovely and compliant child is out there somewhere šŸ™‚ I will continue working towards that goal (singing the Elmo theme song all the way!!) šŸ™‚

  4. so, suffice it to say that the relaxing effects of your massage have worn off? šŸ™‚

  5. noooo…i don’t want to enter this stage!

  6. Even after it’s been 27 yrs. since my last baby was 2, I REMEMBER!! I really do. You are so right–the adorable moments at that age fade way to the background when they’re testing your sanity. No one’s words of wisdom or perspective really help much when you’re there. I wish I could take him for you every couple days!

    The backwards pants (and the tantrum) really are a hoot–in pictures!!

    I can’t wait to get the boys back over T’giving! However, I’ll bet w/ you & Matt here, Jack Henry won’t be as totally happy & compliant as he was for Papa Ron & me last wkend! Seriously, he never once tried to do anything by himself w/ his clothes or, for that matter, fight anything he was supposed to do. Other than eat certain things. But you KNOW the “perfect w/ other people” thing is totally typical.

    I can’t get OVER the difference in Bennett after the past couple yrs.–how putting on his clothes is a non-issue. When JH & I came out to the fam rm on Sun about 6:45, both boys were dressed! Also forgot to mention how they brushed their teeth w/o reminders both a.m. & p.m. (JH only got it once while here.)

  7. i feel your pain. i mean it, i really, really feel your pain. luke and i have been having a see-who’s-more-stubborn-and-can-outlast-the-other test of wills lately. i’m winning at this point, but not by much.

  8. Right there with ya sister… especially on the refusing-to-eat thing. Drives me INSANE!!!

  9. Ha ha to Heidi’s comment and, yes, it is so hard to get over the bad and just soak up the good. But we try ’cause we’re moms.

  10. I have a feeling my “perfect little angel” will just skip right over this stage:) yea right, dreaming, I know.

  11. He’s just so darn cute though. šŸ™‚

    –Yes, I just get see the cute pictures and not the less-than-cute behavior though!

Talk to me!

