This is Love?

Are you kidding me?

One of my favorite magazines is “Real Simple” (many thanks to Hannah for my first subscription to it!). There was a little section this month about love, where readers wrote in their response to the following question:

“What is the most surprising thing about love?”

Julia in Cincinnati answered:

The process of slowly falling in love with the really unexpected things about someone. For example, I am totally smitten with the way my fiance, Jason, smells early in the morning, after a long night of sleep. It’s so human and so absolutely him that I can’t help but inhale and snuggle up.

WHAT? I love my husband. I really, really do. And it’s not like he has a problem with body odor. But for real, the last thing I want to do in the morning is smell him. My breath stinks, his breath stinks, and I really just can’t wait to brush my teeth and take a shower.

I can’t be the only one, right? Right?

—–

In this month’s issue there was also this really sweet article about couples who have been married 50 years or more. I loved it, and I think you will, too.

15 responses to “This is Love?

  1. Yay! I love that article. My favorite thing about the couple is that they still dance together. Reminds me of my favorite couple at the country bar. 🙂

  2. Funny I feel like she does and my husband feels like you – aren’t we the pair..

  3. Okay, total agreement, except that I DO love this smell on my kids…the baby morning breath and stuff. I just love it! Hey, wasn’t I supposed to be getting this magazine? Sounds like I’d love it!

  4. I do like the smell… well I guess honestly not THE SMELL really, but that I get to smell it- that I’m the one that gets to smell it and that it just makes the intimacy so REAL… like loving the bad with the good. If staying in bed together all day meant no toothbrush and no shower I’d be okay with that just because we’re there.
    I think what I relate to the most though, and what I’m sure most (or what I’d hope most) couples relate to is the “process of slowly falling in love with the really unexpected things about someone” part. There are so many things like that. And I love that.

  5. i love real simple too. i must have missed that story b/c i agree w/ you. yuck.

  6. I’m 100% with you on this one, Nicole.

  7. I can’t BELIEVE you commented on that quote b/c I read it when I got the magazine and thought the EXACT same thing!!

    I, too, really liked the article on the couples married a long time!

  8. ewww, I nearly gagged. I hate the smell of sleep funk.

  9. Jill (thebaglady)

    I like the smell of my kids 1st thing in the morning. Maybe because they will sit still for me to snuggle a little bit. I always say they are so warm & soft…. Alex’s smell on the other hand, not so much.

  10. I’m 100% with you. I can’t think of any situation when morning breath is appealing.

  11. I ABSOLUTELY agree with you! And living in a house with 3 boys….I really have a hard time believing that any guy/man/boy smells good in the morning!

  12. the key here is that she is talking about her fiance. i used to love doing laundry for my husband when we were newly weds too. now when he comes home with his dirty, stinky, crusty ACU’s i tell him that i refuse to even touch those to put them in the washer. in fact, just strip in front of the washer so the rest of the house doesn’t get dirty and smell like those things mmmkkkk? yeah…newly weds. BLEH!

  13. I agree – smelling morning breath on purpose from an adult man (i do like the kids version – my own kids that is) would be like purposely smelling his dirty socks and undies before throwing them in the washer – who in their right mind would do that!?!?!
    CRAZY!

  14. EWWWW…. Nope, can’t say that is one of my favorite things…

  15. I thought that was very sweet. I don’t think the whole breath thing was what she had in mind. I think it was likely more the leftovers of last night’s shower, clean sheets and his own “musk”. (ew.) I have to say I like that smell as well.

Talk to me!

