Bible Scholars?

I couldn’t make this stuff up if I tried.

Last week, we were reading the story of the Wise Men and the gifts they brought to Jesus. Bennett knew that there were three gifts, and he asked me, “Mom, did Jesus keep those presents he got?”

I answered, “Well, I’m not sure. They were very valuable. I’m sure he used them.” I then explained, to the best of my limited ability, what frankincense and myrrh are.

Bennett responded, “If it was me, I would have only kept the gold.”

—–

Luke got this Bible for Christmas, and he’s currently reading the book of Luke to himself at night before bed (his idea). After reading a couple of chapters tonight he said, “Mom? Luke and John BOTH wrote about Jesus being nailed to the cross. Did they copy off each other or something?”

So sweet and innocent…and then we had a nice little conversation about Jesus’ contemporaries and how they all wrote about their experiences with him…

6 responses to “Bible Scholars?

  1. I love the fresh eyes that young people bring to Bible stories. 🙂 They’re always thinking.

  2. that is so cute! i love to watch the girls as they listen to us read Bible stories to them. they soak it all in and have lots of questions!

  3. Really? ‘Cause I totally thought it was plagerism.

  4. They are too cute. . . and clever! 🙂

  5. That Bennett . . . 🙂

    Cool that Luke even tried to figure out why 2 different people in the Bible wrote about the same thing!

Talk to me!

