Slavedriver

Alternate title: Leves, by Luke Diehl

This was written in late fall, and given to me by his teacher at conferences last week.

I strdid to rake some leves in the back yard. Then aftr 30 minis my Mom came and said we are going to rake leves in the

frunt yard next. I did not want to go and rake the frunt yard But I had to. So I just raked the 5000 frunt yard leves. The frunt yard was a mess. (editor's note: the circle above "raked" was because he added extra paper to include the "the 5000 frunt yard" part before leves.)

I thik we raked 3000 leves. I was felling tirde as a sleeping cat and as hot as a firebowlit (firebullet)! Then my mom said we are

not done rakeing leves. I was happy as a buny. I acted like I was jumping in the leves we raked 100 more leves.

The highlights, for me:
1. Clearly, I make my kids do things they don’t want to, and it sticks with them enough to write a story about it later at school.

2. Luke is learning about similes. I can only guess what a firebowlit is, but I’m guessing it’s pretty hot.

3. The addendum on page 3, where he felt it necessary to stress that there were 5000 leaves to be raked, and that was not a detail that should be left out.

4. Somewhere along the line, I apparently used my mad mom skillz to make this horrible chore fun (for the record, I don’t think I’ve ever made them rake and then not let them jump in the leaves before we pick them up).

5. Spelling is improving, as is the random capitalization that is a persistent issue. The way our school district works with correct spelling/creative spelling is this: the kids have 5 spelling words a week, and those words go on the “word wall” in their classroom. After a word is on the wall, they are expected to spell it correctly all the time. Otherwise, they just sound it out.

6. It’s hard to see on the scan, but on the last page, he wrote the rest of his story, erased the entire thing, and then rewrote it. I’m guessing he didn’t want to redraw the picture! Speaking of which, it’s funny to see his pictures on stories like this vs. his artwork from school or here. You can tell when he’s really trying, and he definitely gets more creative and takes more time on the artwork than on pictures that accompany stories.

7 responses to “Slavedriver

  1. It was fun to be there last week when you brought this home–and to hear Luke read it himself! All that leaf-raking is good preparation for the *acres & acres* of grass-mowing he will do in later years! πŸ™‚

  2. his writing/spelling is REALLY good.
    p.s. – you mean mom:)

  3. I’m surprised I’ve not had deep family secrets told in Paige’s stories! Did you feel the need to defend yourself to his teacher?? πŸ™‚

  4. HILARIOUS!!!

    You are a slavedriver. My parents never made us rake over 3000 leaves. . . πŸ˜‰

  5. I love how kids change things around when they’re telling stories. Too cute!

  6. OMGosh! This cracks me up! I love your title too.

Talk to me!

