*Smack*

That’s the sound of my hand hitting my forehead. As in, I’m so dumb I can’t believe it.

We own a Toyota Sienna. Bought it brand-spankin’-new when I was about 3 months pregnant with Bennett as it was time to trade in my old car. So we’ve had it for 5 1/2 years. For the first 2 1/2 years or so of owning the van, no one sat in the very back seat unless we had guests with us, as our older two boys sat in the middle row.

After Jack Henry was born, both older boys started sitting in the back. Over the years, the boys have wanted me to open their little wing windows in the very back so that they can get some fresh air. I’ve tried on multiple occasions to do so, and I know I’ve asked Matt to try, too, and they were just impossible to open.

Fast-forward to last week. Bennett was riding in his friend Adam’s new Toyota Sienna. As I was talking to his mom, Ginger, she mentioned that the rear windows open and close with a button that she has on the dash. I commented on how that was a vast improvement over the 2005 model, as the windows are just too hard to open so we don’t bother.

Can you see where this is going?

This morning, all of the boys were in the van with me and Bennett told Luke how it was so cool that in Adam’s van, those back windows can open. I decided to check out some of the buttons on the side dash and see what they do – there were two of which I wasn’t sure of their function. Sure enough, one of them opens those windows.

I suddenly had a vague recollection of knowing that was there when the van was new, but of course, had no need to use it since no one sat back there. I called Ginger and gave her a good laugh. And, of course, laughed at myself.

Duh.

9 responses to “*Smack*

  1. Hello! Have the same 2005 van! Could have clued you in! That is HILARIOUS!!!!!

  2. That is hilarious!!!! So you aren’t one of those people (um like me) that has to touch every.single.button to see what it does!

  3. Aren’t you so happy that you can open those darn windows now!!!! It’s like an upgrade on your van now.

  4. Okay I am going to have to check tomorrow because I can not for the life of me figure out how to open my back side windows either. Where on the dash are these buttons located, I have a 2004 Sienna and will let you know what I find!

  5. Hilarious!!! Better late than never! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Um, that’s the funniest thing I’ve heard ALL DAY. Hilarious.

  7. Please know that if you have issues like this on anything on your car you can always call your local dealership, ask for the service department and tell them what you are trying to do. They’ll happily help you figure it out. They know all the model years. ๐Ÿ™‚

    You’ll really enjoy those windows now that we have some nice weather on the way. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m still laughing about this one…enjoy the freedom of the window button!

Talk to me!

