Wednesday Morning

(This would not have been delayed so much had our internet worked the way it was supposed to…hmph. Our connection is still shaky, but hopefully good enough now.)

Wednesday was the first morning we woke up in our new house. Everyone slept great on Tuesday night, but Jack Henry woke earlier than normal at 6am and called my name. I walked into his room, and he immediately said:

“Like dis. New room. No.”

Broke my heart and made me laugh at the same time!

Some other sounds from our house that morning:

6:15am – recycling is picked up. Loudly.

Matt, while getting ready: “Like this. Double sinks. Yes.”

Me, in pain after moving/unpacking (though we didn’t move the big stuff; movers did): “I’m never ever leaving this soaker tub.”

Me, later in the day, shouting to no one in particular: “What did the previous owners have against shelves?” Not a single bathroom cabinet has a shelf (neither does the wet bar area in the basement), and Wednesday night it occurred to me that the master bathroom has no drawers. Really handy.

13 responses to “Wednesday Morning

  1. Precious Jack Henry. πŸ™‚ So funny!

    Matt is hilarious. It’s like JH invented the new Diehl family grammar. πŸ™‚

    Shelves and drawers — what’s up with that? Either they didn’t have much stuff or they got it to levitate somehow.

  2. I want double sinks too. Yes.

  3. HAHAHAHA!! Cracked me up! I thought it would be…like this. Big TV. Yes.

  4. i can’t wait for double sinks. we went to some open houses today.

  5. Oh yeah, Karen–the new big TV. There’s just something wrong: all our kids now have mega TVs, and we don’t even have a flat screen yet, much less a big one! “Like this. No.”

  6. Hi Nicole – We were in Union 531 together briefly before Mike and I moved to WI. Your blog is always entertaining! I have shouted many things at the previous owners of our house since we moved in! “What strange obsession did the previous owners have with hooks?” has been asked on various occasions. They seriously put hooks everywhere…every bathroom wall, every closet door and wall, on the inside of cabinet doors, and a random one in the middle of the wall in the finished basement! We’ve been here two years and I still find hooks that I didn’t know existed! I’ve also been known to inquire loudly to myself, “Why would you (Mr. and Mrs. Previous Owners) paint OVER the wallpaper in my master bedroom??? Painted wallpaper is oh so difficult to remove. 😦

  7. Bwa ha ha ha ha ha! Matt’s comment cracked me up! So exciting to go on this journey with you! Congrats!

  8. JH’s comment = adorable
    Matt’s comment = hilarious!

    Hope all is going well!

  9. LOL So Cute JH and Good one Matt!

  10. Previous owners are definitely curious!! When we moved in here 9 (gulp, has it been that long?) years ago, NONE of the closets had any lights. How did they pick out clothes in the winter months when it’s dark in the morning?? And they had lived here 10 years. . . We put them in the first week. You find out people really are strange!! πŸ™‚

  11. JH just tugs at your heartstrings! Considering the comments, I just have to ask, what is so great about double sinks since I have a large single?

    • Double sinks in the master bathroom πŸ™‚ We’ve been sharing this tiny bathroom with one sink and virtually no countertop for 6+ years, and we hated it!

      I do prefer a double sink in the kitchen though, too, just to have one for washing and the other for the drying rack. However, a large single kitchen sink would not have been a deal-breaker for me; lack of double sinks in the master bath would have been!

  12. No shelves? We had a similar issue with our house… no towel racks! One of our bathrooms not only has no towel racks, but also no tp rack!! Both of our previous owners must have had the same magical levitating powers Jo speaks of!

Talk to me!

