That’s the Third Kid for Ya.

Tonight, we drove on over to God’s country (aka Illinois) to see the Effingham Hearts play baseball at Sectionals, since Matt’s dad is the assistant coach. Unfortunately, they lost, but it was fun to watch a high school game again. And holy flashbacks, Batman, I can’t believe how many years it’s been since I was the teenage girl sitting on the bleachers cheering for a boyfriend my team! I felt SO old. Truly one of the first times in my life that it’s hit me like that. I realized that in like 8 years, if Luke kept playing baseball, I could be the MOTHER of a player. Sheesh.

That’s not what this story is about, but I needed to unload that.

My boys brought their gloves and a couple of tennis balls to the park tonight for something to do, because little boys can only be expected to sit and watch a game for so long. At one point in the evening, Luke gently tossed a ball to Jack Henry, and it hit him down there. His reaction?

“Hey! That hit me in the n*ts!”

My reaction: pick jaw up off the ground. Try to keep eyes from bugging out of head. Say “what did you say?” to clarify that I’d heard correctly. Nudge Matt. Glare at a giggling Luke, who openly admitted to teaching him that word (I’ve never even heard him refer to them as that). Scold children for saying something that they shouldn’t, and then bury my head in Matt’s shoulder, trying to stifle my own giggles. Pray that no one else heard him, though he practically yelled it.

It’s so wrong, but when your 2-year-old says nuts and knows what he’s talking about, it’s pretty darn funny.

And that, my friends, is the difference between a firstborn and a third-born. Sadly, someday he’ll be the one corrupting firstborns.

13 responses to “That’s the Third Kid for Ya.

  1. I am shocked that LUKE knew the word, much less JACK HENRY!!!! 🙂 I’d have just fallen off the bleachers if I’d been there to hear it!!

    P.S. I’m trying to decide if it would have been better or worse if JH had hollered, “That hit me in the p*nis!” 🙂

  2. …then you don’t want to come around any of my kids. Alex is actually the one who exposes my kids to the slang & laughs about it. Nice, huh?

  3. i am laughing out loud!!!!

  4. That is Great!!!!

  5. Ha! 🙂 Well Lee has taught our boys to call them Gibleys (Jibleys?) I don’t even know how to spell it, but I hear the word Gibley’s daily from the 6 year old and the 2 year old is picking it up as well.

    And then I have a daughter who also refers to her private area as her Gibleys. It’s truly mortifying…

  6. Again, we’re living mirrored lives.

    Except that you have a gift for interior decorating, and I (clearly) don’t.

    Anyhoo, I have had several of those moments lately. Good laughs.

  7. I think Nana Jo is right – relatively speaking, it could have been SOOOOO much worse! Say, if he had actually been hit in the p*nis, but used another, less appropriate word. And if people had heard him. And if you had been unable to stifle those giggles. Big props to Mom for holding it together. Not sure I would have been able!!

  8. Totally been there!!!!!!!!! I’ve come to realize that there are much worse words. LOL.

  9. welcome to my world.

  10. What’s wrong with that? I mean, it did. 🙂 Hysterical.

  11. My kids were never this funny!

  12. Laughing so dang hard!!!!

    Oh my gosh I needed that laugh today.

    You know you’re the mother of boys when the word ‘nuts’ makes you laugh hysterically

Talk to me!

