The Great Tuxedo Fiasco, Part 1

I almost forgot that I needed to record this! Summer started and I got distracted.

Rewind to our amazing Laguna Beach getaway. Tuesday night, there was a formal event where Matt and all of the other award winners were recognized during a banquet. This meant going up on stage to receive his award, and shaking the hand of and taking pictures with some bank bigwigs…like the CEO and stuff. Kind of a big deal.

When we got there on Monday afternoon, we went to the temporary tux shop that was set up in the hotel to pick up the suit Matt had rented. We returned to our room with it, and I casually mentioned that it might be a good idea to check the tux and make sure everything was there*. He replied with an easy smile and a chuckle, and some words along the lines of, “Aww, it’ll be fine. Don’t worry about it. I’ve been the same size tux for a long time now.” Me: “not a good idea, but whatever. I’m not the one wearing it. For the record, my concern is NOT that they gave you your size and it doesn’t fit, but rather that they didn’t give you the correct sizes.” Matt: “It’s so easy; how can they screw this up?” Me: “do you have to ask?”

Fast-forward to Tuesday afternoon, when I realized that the tux shop was still set up in the hotel, available to make exchanges on things that might be incorrect. Matt again responded that there was nothing to worry about. The organized planner in me did not like this one bit.

We had such a casual day on Tuesday that when we’d had enough sun that afternoon, we went up to the hotel room to get ready for the evening pretty early; I’m guessing it was around 4:30, and we needed to be there at 6:30. Matt opened his tux bag, and realized that while they gave him the right size shoes, they didn’t give him the square-toed shoes that cost more that he’d ordered (and paid for). I will admit to a less-than-full-of-grace response. Honestly, I didn’t mean it in a “I-was-right, you-were-wrong, hahaha” way; but I definitely felt vindicated. Like checking the bag ahead of time didn’t mean that I was a crazy, paranoid you-know-what, but rather being proactive about preventing problems. So this didn’t sit well with Matt, but we patched things up and I headed to the shower.

I was mid-shampoo when Matt burst into the bathroom and said, “I’m going down to the tux shop. They gave me a size 43 pants!”

…to be continued on Thursday…

*for the record: Matt fact-checked and approved this story, so that it can be told accurately and not just how I remembered it. I felt that needed to be documented 🙂

4 responses to “The Great Tuxedo Fiasco, Part 1

  1. C’mon! I wanted to read the part where you’re all sweaty again!

  2. hahahaha, I can’t wait for the ending!

  3. hahahaahaha!

Talk to me!

