Summer in Review

Some things about this summer that I don’t want to forget:

*as always, it cruised by way too fast. I felt like June dragged, and all of a sudden it was my birthday, and then summer was over. Gah. I want to do a better job of taking advantage of those slow, June, summer’s-gonna-last-forever days next summer. I’m still learning how to be a mom to elementary school kids, ya know? Summer with toddlers was just an extension of the rest of the months, when our lives weren’t dictated by the school year.

*Luke and Bennett took swim lessons, and thanks to our great instructor, Sarah, and more swimming time than ever before due to our new neighborhood’s pool, Luke is actually swimming! He’s started being able to breathe close to the right way, enough so that I think he’ll do swim team next summer through our neighborhood. Bennett’s really coming along, too, but he’s very cautious in the water. Jack Henry just loves being in the water, and will probably take lessons next summer…he wishes that he did this year.

*The older boys (and Jack, to some degree, too) are full-on addicted to Phineas and Ferb. I’ve been much more lax since about mid-July about TV watching (when it got too hot for them to play outside much), and it’s almost always P&F that they want to watch. It’s by far the best kids’ show on TV, and it gives them great ideas of things that they later build out of Legos or paper or various other materials. The other day, as the show started for the first time in the morning, Jack jumped off the couch and yelled, “I get to be Phineas!” Loved it.

*Their love for the Cardinals has not waned over the summer. The boys are pumped about a possible playoff appearance!

*Being the mom of kids who play baseball is so much fun for me. Sure, I could do without it being 187 degrees when they play, and I’d love to not have 4 games in one weekend, but it’s really fun to watch them improve and enjoy the game like they do. Until it got so hot, the boys went outside everyday – no exaggeration – to play catch. I think as it cools again they’ll be back at it after school.

*I know (at least, I hope) that a couple of weeks into the year, we’ll be adjusted to our new schedule and getting used to homework expectations, etc. But right now, I just want to lay on the couch and cry (situation exacerbated this year by the transition to a new school for the boys, which they are so far pretty nervous about). I know I always had a good cry with my mom at the end of summer, all the way through school. I LOVED school; I just hated to see summer end. On the flip side: even though I love the time we’ve spent together this summer, there is more than a little part of me that is terribly excited about school starting tomorrow and the routine I’ll establish for the school year.

2 responses to “Summer in Review

  1. Sniff sniff. This is a good recap. I loved reading it. Thinking of you tomorrow!

  2. I just had to tell you that I am also a big fan of Phineas & Ferb. I love that cartoon. The grandkids always have the TV on some cartoon and I started watching with them. I love the Sister when she hollers….”MOM”!!!!! it reminds me of a couple of my girls!!!!!

Talk to me!

