15 Years??

This post is so ridiculously late that I almost didn’t write it…I’m really having trouble finding time to blog these days, though there are a million posts floating around in my head! Another painting project is nearly complete, which I hope will mean more normal-looking days again soon. Whatever those are.

Somehow, my 15-year class reunion rolled around this summer. How did that even happen? I’m thankful that Matt and I were able to attend; I had such a great time catching up with old friends. There’s just something about being with people who knew you for so many years, even if you’re no longer really in touch with them (though, Facebook has changed all of that to some degree as well). We spent a fun evening reminiscing and catching up, and talked more about loading dishwashers than one would think is enjoyable at a class reunion (but truly, it was hilarious).

I am happy to report that there was only one classmate that I didn’t recognize because he’d changed so much – if I’d been closer, I’m sure I would have known it was him. But from across the room, I had to ask Sonya, who nearly died laughing at me. In my defense, he’d lost a lot of weight and just looked totally different! Noteworthy info: there were about 55 people in my graduating class, many of whom I attended elementary school with as well.

On Saturday, the morning after the party for grownups, some of the guys went golfing, and then everyone was invited to a family picnic. It was great to see so many of my classmates’ kids, and especially fun to see some of my guy friends as dads now…I mean, as a teenager, it was easier to picture my girl friends as parents than the guy friends.

I can honestly say that I’m looking forward to the 20 year (not so much to being 38, though). I’m not sure anyone could do a better job than our host this year, Art, who had us out to his beautiful home. He and his wife Sara really outdid themselves!

And now for a few snapshots.

4 responses to “15 Years??

  1. So, I have to ask, who did you not recognize???

  2. I have to know who you didn’t recognize?!?!

  3. Ohnie! And, I didn’t either! And, I live here…apparently in the same town as Ohnie! At our 10 yr I didn’t recognize Kitterman!

Talk to me!

