Tutorial: Painting Wall Stripes or an Accent Wall

I know that this won’t be interesting to some of you, but I love to paint, and knowing how to do a better job and fewer touchups is good stuff for people like me. Now that I know how easy it is to make an accent wall or stripes on a wall crisp and clean, I could cry at the number of times I’ve done it incorrectly in the past. And I could kiss the person that taught me how to do this right, if only I knew where I learned this little trick…

And maybe everyone else in the world knows this already or is just plain clever enough to figure this step out on their own, but I wasn’t. So I’ll share, in hopes that this helps you!

Step 1: If you’re painting stripes, paint the entire wall the lighter of the two colors.

Step 2: Mark out your lines using a laser level, and tape along the lines. Make sure you press the tape down against the wall as best you can to make a tight seal.

Step 3: Along the inside of the stripes that you will be painting darker, paint a thin coat of the LIGHTER color. This means that any color bleed you get will be the same color as the wall underneath. Genius. Plus, it then seals off the seam for when you add the darker color.

Step 4: Paint, paint, paint!

Step 5: Let your paint dry. If you’re at a corner, you may want to carefully score the paint with a razor to prevent pulling hunks of paint away. Carefully peel away the tape, and pat yourself on the back for a job well done! There may be a few tiny spots to patch, but overall, the lines will be 1000 times crisper than if you skipped step 3. Trust me on this one.

That’s it! Honestly, if I’d known this trick back in 2002, I would have seen far more of the Winter Olympics instead of spending HOURS fixing the lines we’d painted in the master bedroom of our first house while Matt traveled constantly for work. It’s a good memory, can’t you tell?

5 responses to “Tutorial: Painting Wall Stripes or an Accent Wall

  1. Never in a million years would I have figured this out, and frankly, I can’t imagine ANYONE brainstorming this! Amazing & impressive!

  2. ooohhhhhhhhhhh! thanks for the tips!

  3. I seriously had to read the instructions 3 times before I understood… I’m glad I did because this is genius!!! Thanks for the tip!!

  4. AWESOME!!! Thank you so much for sharing this link! My painter/contractor friend has mentioned this before for walls– d’oh! Should have thought about that for my piece of furniture!!!

Talk to me!

