Vote.

I’d been telling Jack Henry all morning that we were going to go up to school so that I can vote. I hadn’t elaborated any more than that.

As I finished getting ready to go, I told him, “It’s time for us to leave so I can vote. Do you know what you need to do while we’re there?”

Of course, his answer was no.

I explained that he needed to stay right by me and be very quiet.

“Why?” he asked.

“Because other people are there voting, too. They need it quiet so that they can make their decisions.”

That seemed good enough, until a couple of minutes later when we headed down the stairs.

“Mom?” he asked. “Are we going to be on the water?”

I stopped for a moment, puzzled.

“Wait…you know we’re going to Vote and not get on a Boat, right?”

Jack Henry laughed and said, “Ooooohhhh! Vote! V-v-v-v-Veee. I get it!”

I love mix-ups like these 🙂

And get out and vote today.

6 responses to “Vote.

  1. I’d certainly rather be on a boat!

  2. That is too funny!

  3. That is too funny. Jack Henry-isms make my day.

    I will not be voting today because the stupid Illinois DMV didn’t submit my registration to Madison County. I’m really ticked because I have voted in every election since I turned 18. I even gave birth on Election Day in 2008 and managed to get my vote in.

  4. LOVE THIS! Because I had the EXACT SAME CONVO with Julia!! Tooo funny! She was SOOO mad we weren’t going “boating”!

  5. Pingback: Voting: A 5-Year-Old’s Experience | Here's the Diehl

Talk to me!

