5 Question Friday 11.17.10

Jill often participates in 5QF, but this is my first time. When I read the questions this morning, I couldn’t believe that our answer to question #3 was partly the same!!

1. What Christmas song do you loathe?
Kelli knows the answer to this, because she loves this song and I HATE IT: Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You.” I primarily blame it on working retail at Christmas time, and that song was always, always on. Hideous.

2. Do you and your significant other cuddle at night or sleep on opposite sides of the bed?
We usually snuggle up for a few minutes and then roll to opposite sides of the bed. If I wake up in the middle of the night, I’m always so hot I can’t stand it, so I have to get far away. Also, I do not like to re-breathe air, so I absolutely cannot face him when we’re falling asleep. It weirds me out.

I sound delightful, no?

3. Have you ever had surgery?
A couple of pretty minor ones: a small mouth surgery when I was 11, wisdom teeth removal, a gum graft in the front of my bottom front teeth (that was horribly painful for a few days, but minor, really). I also had a D&C (not miscarriage-related) as reported here.

But the worst, by far, was the procedure that Jill described having done on her foot (sidenote: MERCY! I just googled what my diagnosis was – retrocalcaneal exostosis with bursitis – and the first link brought me to pictures of the actual surgery. Barf. Go look at Jill’s diagram for less-gross details). I basically had extra bone at the back of each heel (heel spurs occur underneath the foot; this is on the back of the heel) that was very painful, and it would bore holes in the backs of my shoes. As a dancer, this became very uncomfortable, so after years of problems, I had surgery in the winter of my senior year in HS. I had the other foot done the following summer. 5 weeks of a non-weight bearing cast and crutches each time were not fun, and neither was the PT afterwards. Neither is the lingering numbness in my heels.

The first one was better overall; the bone has not regrown (bone’s job is to make bone, so there’s lots of stuff they do to try to prevent regrowth). The second one didn’t go as well; he had to put an anchor in my Achilles tendon so that it wouldn’t rupture, but didn’t have to detach it, thankfully. That metal anchor aches when there’s a big barometric pressure change (I’m not joking!), and, unfortunately, the bone has regrown somewhat. It’s manageable, and I hope to not have to do the surgery again, but frustrating that it didn’t hold up as well as the first one.

Wordy…sorry.

4. When do you typically have your holiday shopping done?
Weeks before Christmas! I’m probably 75% finished now.

5. If money were not an issue (and you HAD to pick something), what would your ultimate luxury item be?
Oh, this is so hard. Right now, I think a personal masseuse. I never feel more ready to conquer the world than after a great massage! And I currently only get that feeling about once a year. Can you imagine what I could do if I had a massage every week?? It would be even better if that masseuse liked to clean house when not giving me a massage.

4 responses to “5 Question Friday 11.17.10

  1. UGH! That surgery sounds terrible! I have to chime in at least about the song…I loathe that Christmas Shoes song….makes me want to hurl every time I hear it. Does that make me cold-hearted?

  2. #2 I can’t rebreathe air either.
    #4 And I am happy to report after 11 grueling hours spent in stores/shopping malls yesterday I am 99.5% DONE with my christmas shopping – just 2 gift cards to pick up locally! 🙂

  3. I love your #2 about re-breathing air! I can’t face Mike and if we’re facing each other talking before rolling over and going to sleep, I cannot be on the same face level as him. Ugh, I hate recycled air.

Talk to me!

