Thankfulness

I love to make lists. And this is my favorite kind to make.

This year, I’m thankful for…

…our new house. It’s such a good fit for us, and it really feels like home. I can’t wait to make holiday memories in this place!

…the boys’ new school. The community has been really welcoming, and both of them are thriving. Couldn’t ask for more.

Jamie A casually mentioning one time that she uses her whole-house vacuum to clean her hardwood floors. I’d banished ours in the days after moving in here because it does absolutely no good on carpet, but this gave me the idea to find the right attachment for the hardwoods, and oh.my.goodness…amazing.

…sweet tea.

…ebay, for allowing me to unload some stuff we don’t need around here.

…good blogs to read, especially those that make me laugh or challenge me to do or be more than I am right now.

…Matt’s employment, and my subsequent ability to be home with the boys.

…all of the years I had with my mom. It’s one of those things that if you’re not consciously thankful for what you had, you’ll just get bitter over the loss, and I can’t live that way.

…my newfound love of crafting. Or maybe it’s my newfound confidence in my crafting ability, or the fact that I’m not afraid to abandon something that doesn’t turn out right. Whatever. Es bueno.

“The Falsies” mascara, for making my eyelashes look like they exist. Not an easy feat.

…our church.

…our small group, because our discussions are always challenging, faith-building, and encouraging. I love those people.

…friends who are family and family who are friends.

EBATES! I’ve earned $50+ since joining in October. And I already got my first check for a portion of that!

…my little family, of course. This list wouldn’t be complete without mentioning them!

Tell me what you’re thankful for in the comments, and have a Happy Thanksgiving weekend! I’ll be back with an Advent post later this next week, and then that’s it until after Thanksgiving.

4 responses to “Thankfulness

  1. My short list:
    #1 My health & that of my family.
    #2 Alex’s job
    #3 Today in particular, Blake learning to entertain himself with his imagination

  2. My thankfulness list is almost too overwhelming to list; I’ve been so blessed! Foremost in my mind this year:
    1. No surprise–my granddaughter Calla Grace! I could write volumes here, but just let it be said that I have a special love for her that I can’t even describe.
    2. No surprise here, either–all 3 of my grandsons–Luke, Bennett, Jack Henry–who constantly entertain & delight me! And I’m thankful that their mommy blogs so faithfully so that I can feel like I’m right there!
    3. The rest of my family–Ron & our 3 kids! I could go into detail, but I don’t want anyone to get a big head over all the things I might say!
    4. Good friends. It was a rough year at times, and I’m thankful I have friends I can cry with.
    5. Being retired. I’m thankful I have a husband who can manage money (because I can’t!) & am thankful I had a career w/ half-way decent retirement benefits–allowing me to retire a couple yrs ago. Although I appreciated it back then, this year it was much more meaningful.
    6. OK, enough seriousness. I’m thankful for our newly updated bathroom! And our new back deck. And our brand-spankin’ new big screen TV. And the new wood flooring I’m about to order as soon as I gather enough family/friends’ votes on which one.
    7. Nicole’s “Falsies” comment reminds me that I’m thankful for one side effect of the “pre-glaucoma” eye drops I have to use nightly: one of the ingredients sometimes makes eyelashes grow longer, and it has! Not glamour-girl length, but I can definitely tell!
    8. Pizza. And Steak ‘n Shake.

    I might have to come back and add something really noteworthy that I’ve forgotten; I did this quickly! Sorry for the length!

  3. I’m thankful for YOU! And the life that I am living that (not to sound too dramatic) is my dream life. 😉

  4. 1)My health
    2)My marriage
    3)My small group
    4)Our jobs
    5)My incredibly loving and supportive family and friends
    6)Leggings and scarves
    7)My puppy
    8)Tootsie Pops and the new flavors that keep coming out.

Talk to me!

