Christmas Letters

Thanks for weighing in on the polls yesterday! As of press time, only 9 of you said that you hate Christmas letters, and 54 said you loved them. That was convincing enough for me to try my hand at writing another one.

I generally don’t write a Christmas letter. Especially since starting a blog, it just seems terribly redundant. Plus, I feel like few people really do them well, and even though I like to get them, I generally only find a few of them remotely entertaining. BUT, as my MIL (who writes a killer Christmas letter every year) said in the comments on the last post, if you’re just sending a card without a written note or a letter or a picture (meaning that you’ve just signed your name to a Hallmark card), why bother? A letter is rarely a bad idea IMO.

I last wrote one in 2007, and reading it again cracked me up. Here it is:

Merry Christmas, Family and Friends,

What a difference a year makes! Last year at this time, we had no idea that 2007 would bring us another son! Jackson Henry was born on September 26, and he has been a wonderful addition to our family. At 2½ months old, Jack Henry is a chubby, happy, baby, full of smiles and never lacking for attention from his two big brothers. Which is good, because Mommy is busy!

Luke just turned 5; I can’t believe we’ll have a kindergartener next year! He is really into writing and drawing, and can be found most days at his little table in the playroom cutting paper into a zillion tiny pieces and then putting them back together with yards of Scotch tape. Luke is definitely a perfectionist – his two firstborn parents have no idea where he gets that! Teaching him to make his bed this year nearly did me in. He goes to preschool three mornings a week at a local church, and he really loves it there.

Bennett is 2½, and he’s showing us, at times, what the “terrible twos” can look like! Spending a day with Bennett is much like riding a roller coaster… while he’s an incredibly empathetic child and much of the time very loving, he also has a quick temper and can be quite stubborn. He and Luke generally play together very well (though last week, for the first time, I heard him say, “I am nev-uh, ev-uh playing wif Duke again!”). The two older boys started sharing a room this year, which was all kinds of fun last spring, but good now.

Matt still works for (bank); he‘s been there almost seven years now. He plays bridge every chance he gets (though it’s not as often as before the boys were born). He’s looking forward to New Year’s Day this year, as the Illini will be playing USC in the Rose Bowl…this will be a big deal for the whole Pals and Diehl families! Matt and the boys have a weekly tradition of going to the “coffee and cookie store” on Saturday mornings (guess who gets what!), and the boys just love their trips there with Dad.

As the only girl in the house, I am doing my best to make sure that this place doesn’t get stinky and completely sports-obsessed. I don’t know if I’m winning on either front! I quit working in October 2006, and it’s been a huge blessing to be able to stay home. I have been blogging about our life at heresthediehl.wordpress.com. Visit us online!

As exciting as it is for us to watch our boys to get older and anticipate Santa and presents, we keep close to our hearts the real meaning of Christmas…the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

Love,
The Diehls
Matt, Nicole, Luke, Bennett and Jack Henry

So this afternoon, I will put the finishing touches on our letter, and if I’m sending it to someone who hates them, just use it to start a fire or something 😉

7 responses to “Christmas Letters

  1. It was a hoot to read your old letter here! How well I remember Luke’s stage of using tons of scotch tape for his projects!!

    I know what you mean when you say you feel like your letter will be “old news” b/c of your blog. Obviously, I don’t have a blog, but just being on FB & e-mailing as much as I do, I feel as though most people know everything significant about our year. I also think my letters used to be more “entertaining” back in the days when our kids were still home &/or in college. I haven’t tried to write this year’s letter yet; I dread doing it every year! I have a little while til the cards come that I ordered, so I can still procrastinate. 🙂

  2. i any type of christmas card (picture, letter, etc). it just makes the holidays.

  3. that should say i love any type of xmas card:)

  4. I am struggling this year. I’ve had mine finished for a week, but I’m not in love with it. I am not sure what I’m going to do. . .

    I get so much crap from my co-workers about my letter (especially seeing as I’m single). . . but most of the people that get it like it, I think. . .

    I love a good letter! 🙂

    P.S.–The picture of the Christmas lights that Luke taped up may be my favorite thing on your blog ever. . . It’s so great that you captured that!!!

    • Hannah, I always LOVE your letter. You must send it out 🙂

      I’ll have to go look up those Christmas lights. I’d forgotten about them! But you’re right; that was a funny one.

  5. I agree w/ Hannah: Luke’s paper Christmas lights taped on his bed = SO ADORABLE!!!!

  6. Hilarious! I remember reading this the 1st time around!

Talk to me!

