Gifts of Compassion

Luke’s 8th birthday post coming tonight! However, this post is also perfect for today, because it’s our Compassion-sponsored child Jeremy’s 8th birthday today, too!

A couple of months ago, I signed up to become a Compassion blogger. What is that, you ask? It’s simply a network of 1100+ bloggers committed to blogging monthly about Compassion in some form. Compassion bloggers have lead to more than 5000 children being sponsored, as readers decide to join Compassion in their fight against poverty. I’ve blogged about Compassion more times than I can count but never officially as a Compassion blogger, so, now it’s official!

I mentioned that one of our Advent activities would be to choose something to donate via a website I’d found. And then I got the monthly email writing prompt from Compassion bloggers, and realized that Compassion does something similar to the previously-mentioned (and also very worthy) organization. Because we’ve had a wonderful experience sponsoring Jeremy through Compassion, I’d love to donate through them.

I love opportunities that allow me to expand the boys’ view of the world, and poverty, and how a small amount of money can make a BIG difference to someone in need.

It’s very simple: you can go to this special Gifts of Compassion website, and choose a gift to donate. For instance, you can give a mosquito net for $10 – a mosquito net can literally save a person’s life, as mosquitos carry malaria, a disease that still kills more than a million people a year. Or you can give children the vaccinations they need for $25. There are gifts for every price range.

So if you’ve heard me talk about Compassion in the past, but didn’t feel like you could sponsor a child just yet, this would be a great way to help a child in need and his/her family this Christmas!

6 responses to “Gifts of Compassion

  1. This is a very cool website–I’d never seen it! I’m going to pick out 1 or 2 things to give! So easy!!

  2. Great website! Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

  3. We’re looking forward to choosing a gift or two as a family. 🙂

  4. Just bought a mosquito net 🙂

  5. The teacher in me couldn’t resist: had to buy educational supplies!

  6. We bought a soccer ball (my 6-year old insisted) and a chicken. Thanks for letting us know about this great opportunity!

Talk to me!

