Happy Birthday, Dad!

Today is my dad’s birthday, and I almost missed posting this in time! I’m hoping and praying that my sick kids will be better by Christmas so that we can join our family for festivities, or I’ll be crushed. I can’t even think about it.

This is truly one of my favorite pictures of all time. Isn’t he adorable?

And here is my brother Jake and me and our parents in July of 1980. Aren’t we stylish? I know that my mom made my dress for Easter. I also know that for a 3-year-old, I had a really chubby face. Check that out…phew.

And here’s my dad with his grandkids last weekend, in yet another stellar moment in Pals family photography…we WILL someday get a good picture of him with all of the kids if it’s the last thing I do.

He was, and is, the best dad ever.

Happy birthday, Dad. See you soon, I hope!

9 responses to “Happy Birthday, Dad!

  1. Happy Birthday to your dad!!

    We are still trying to get a good one of the grandkids with my parents. No luck. Maybe when there are no longer babies it will be better – maybe not.

  2. Three GREAT pics!!! 🙂 Gotta love the old Olan Mills photo shoots! And the family shot in the middle is quintessential late-70s! (Your dress is cute! Rick’s leisure suit, not so much.) Were you somewhere out at the lake? The last pic–well, what can I say? Luke & Bennett are trying SO hard, Will & Ashlyn are totally out of control, & JH is understandably distracted!! These kinds are the best!
    Praying that everyone is OK for the wkend. I’m like you–not allowing myself to even think about it.

  3. Happy Birthday, Mr. Pals!

    Nic – What do your kids have? We have 2 on antibiotics: sinus infection and strep. Thankfully, I think our timing was good and we’re going to be okay for festivities starting tomorrow. I’ll pray your guys are too!

    • We also have 2 on antibiotics: Luke for ear infection (raging – so bad I could see it with a flashlight) and Bennett primarily for sinus infection (just ongoing runny nose for several weeks that wasn’t a big deal at all, but he started running a fever in the middle of the night last night, and the doc thought that the sinus issue was likely bacterial by this point, so omnicef for everyone!!).

      Hope yours are fine by tomorrow!

  4. happy bday to your dad!

  5. You REALLY could have left out the picture in the leisure suit.. LOL..

  6. Happy Birthday Cousin Rick!!! Lookin good in that leisure suit!! 😉

  7. Nicole – I just “blew up” the 1980 picture and holy cow – is that Bennett in that dress??? Never realized how much he looked like you!!! Too Cute!

Talk to me!

