Sledding!

OK, I’ll admit that I was really not looking forward to another snow day. First of all, it seems that if we get ANY snow at all, the kids don’t have school. I am fairly certain that when I was a kid, we went to school when it snowed sometimes. Because of this no-school-at-the-first-sign-of-flakes business, the kids have now used up all of their snow days for the year, and it’s only mid-January. I really don’t like extending the school year into June.

Not only that, but they haven’t had a full week of school since mid-December, which is just starting to make me nuts. Plus, I had a lot of things to do today in preparation for a weekend gathering at our house (shopping, cleaning, etc).

BUT. We decided to make the most of the 7 or so inches of snow and go out and play.

Matt and I have never taken the kids sledding before, which I know is tantamount to child abuse to some of you, but there it is. Neither of us really like the snow, and until this winter, we’ve always had a baby in the family who didn’t like to be out in the cold, so I never really felt bad about it. But now that the boys are older, it was time. So we loaded up the van with sleds, loaded up ourselves with layers (except Bennett, who was throwing such a hissy that I told him he only had to sled down the hill once and then he could sit in the van the rest of the time, but he wasn’t going to ruin everyone else’s fun. Guess who didn’t want to leave when it was time? Bennett, of course.), and headed to the boys’ school, where there is a GREAT sledding hill.

I’d say that Jack Henry is not a big fan, as the spray from the sled got in his face and he didn’t want to go back down again. The other two boys were crazy about it, of course!

Picture and video evidence of the fun (oh, this is particularly remarkable since the moment I stepped out of the car, I dropped my camera into 7″ of snow and had to dig it out and quickly try to dry it; it appears that it still works):

6 responses to “Sledding!

  1. what fun!!! wait til they try sledding on an tube! I want to go to this hill next time! Our hill hadn’t been touched yet and it took us about 20 mins just to get through the fluff.

    • it took a couple of trips down the hill (and much convincing by mom that the already-traveled paths would be faster) to really get going. i’ll bet it’s perfect by now!!

  2. This looks SO FUN!!! I love that JH found an alternative activity! The hill at school looks like the perfect spot. That Bennett & his socks–oh my! But knowing how he is w/ his “clothes thing,” I’m impressed you got him to bundle up. πŸ™‚ Good job, Mom!

  3. Mmmmm…happy kids! And JH talks JUST like Matt! It’s hilarious to close my eyes and listen.

  4. CUTE! They looked like they were Flyin down that hill! Looks like a blast πŸ™‚

  5. Our kids love sledding. Even Landon, who hates the cold. But he doesn’t last long either. We’ve yet to visit Art Hill – one of these days I’d like to experience that. I hope to get them out once more to sled before this great snow melts away, but it’s got to be warner than 10 degrees for that to happen! πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

